PETITE AND PROUD DAY

TL 5-4 PETITE & PROUD DAY

At 5’2″ and 1/4…  I think I qualify as PETITE!  When people ask me how tall I am, I emphasize that I am 5’2 PLUS 1/4″ because let’s face it, I need every bit of height I can get!  In the 1970’s I took advantage of wedge-style shoes – you know, the ones with stacked soles that make you feel like a giant without making your feet feel too bad?  And back then they were natural colored leather – ah, I loved those.  We carried the natural leather bags that matched – it was like we were flower children, embracing all things natural.

I wanted to be just like Farrah…  but as the years went by, I learned to love and appreciate Linda.  Did you know the minimum height to do modeling in the 1970’s was 5’7″???  I’m not sure why I remember that, other than I remember thinking, “Well, there went that career opportunity down the tubes!” 

7dcadcf6b12c0f37cc17459a5570e54f

c326bcc021860d109c3244451a1201dc087512b826f55a61d5563e1cacbaa1afI had a pair that look like “C” – with the flower cutout design.  d6f55abc12a29f0918041a5ec2cdc8d1

Let’s face it…  a person with short legs has a very difficult time wearing bell-bottom jeans!  There’s just not enough length there to begin with!  Women with legs that never end can wear anything…  but for a short gal, I think I nailed it. But… I so wanted to look like Farrah…  I loved her name, her hair, the fact that she had legs…  and who didn’t???  She was beautiful!!!e5bf1246a0b07b78aa462f00fa84a142Farrah never had to wear heels for height – she was just so pretty.c37aa2500154abf05d879b49b7a41ed9Yes, the clutch bag brings back a memory or two as well.

I rocked “short” even as a youngster.  I did an essay in school called “Does a Person’s Height Make Them More Successful?”  Sadly, the answer is yes.  The taller a person is, the more respected they are and the further ahead they get.  So, short people have a hurdle to jump (no pun intended) – tall people jump hurdles easier too.  We get overlooked (again, no pun intended) until we speak – and if we don’t speak up, we will not be heard.  When I speak – it has to be loud so that people will look down and notice me.  It’s true.

There was a popular song back in the 1970’s that made me crazy.  It was called SHORT PEOPLE.  Ugh…  ok – here it is:  wake me up when it’s over.

Now that I’m older and the fashions have gotten more kind to all body types, I don’t feel so bad about being short.  That’s why today I am celebrating Petite and Proud Day!  I may as well embrace my petite, because it’s not likely to change anytime soon, ya know???5-4 PETITE & PROUD

I believe it has less to do with stature and physical traits – and more to do with personality, positive attitude, charisma and the traits that come from deep down inside your soul.  Get to know a short person from the inside out…  it will bless your day!  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!