A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (17)What an interesting experience we had at our local McDonald’s restaurant the other day!  As you know, my husband and I are both type 2 diabetics.  We had been shopping at Walmart and I began to have symptoms of low blood sugar, which is very unusual for me.  I’m not a disciplined patient – that is to say, I don’t typically carry candy or glucose tablets in my purse.  I know…  I know – I should.

We quickly checked our stuff out and loaded it in the truck – then made a beeline for the McDonald’s across the parking lot.  To our surprise, there was some sort of meeting going on with goodies that each person brought from home!  I’m so impressed that the management of McDonald’s would allow folks to do that.  You’d think they would insist that they buy the food there, wouldn’t you?

There were all sorts of cakes and cookies and assorted things of that nature.  I was busy with my oatmeal and coffee (4 points, yep – I counted it)…  and a sweet little lady came to our booth and said,

It’s April birthday month and we have all kinds of goodies if you kids would like to have some birthday cake or cookies, help yourself!

Two things hit me simultaneously…  first – the term YOU KIDS is one I have not heard in such a long time; in fact, not since my sweet mama passed.  Secondly – the sheer sweetness she showed.  We were not a part of their organization or group or whatever, yet she showed such a kindness to us!

I didn’t know her, but she was inclusive by inviting us to be a part of their celebration.  She had no way of knowing that I had a birthday in April – but how very sweet it was of her to ask if we may want to help them celebrate another year of life for those in their group – whatever it was.  I have no idea, but I am so impressed with the manager of that McDonald’s for letting these sweet seniors gather there with their homemade birthday goodies.APRIL BIRTHDAY JOY

As we left the restaurant, I made a little detour to the counter and let the manager know that I thought it was very kind of him to let them gather every month for a birthday celebration.  He just grinned and gave me two thumbs up.  He told me they’d been doing that since the restaurant opened and he doesn’t mind a bit.  I didn’t ask what organization they represent – I’m not sure he even knew to be honest.

Some things happen on some days that just restore your faith in human nature.  This was a good day – a very, very good day.  Thank You, Lord for good days and good folks.  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

