THANKS LIVING DAY 19

TL THANKSGIVING

PRAYER ABOUT SMALL STUFF

When I was a kid, my friends used to give me a hard time about being an only child. They said things like, “You’ve really got it made ‘cuz you don’t have brothers and sisters!” Well that was true in part. Later in life, however, the other shoe eventually dropped.

Having to face the loss of a loved one all alone is probably the most difficult challenge I ever had to tackle. It was tough enough to think about not getting to talk with them anymore for a while, but when I thought about all the prayers they said for me throughout my life – and now – silence. I honestly did not think anyone would ever love me enough to pray for me again. Some of you may think that is silly, but I’m a Christian and that’s what we do – we pray for each other.

I took my concerns to God. I was honest with Him (hey, He’s God – you may as well lay it all out there!) He gave me a peace and a reassurance that I had been prayed for by others. He put little signs and indications before me that let me know I was still loved and cared for.

Later, after the funeral was over and the shock wore off, people did not come around as much. Once again I felt un-prayed for. I asked God about it. That same day I received a card in the mail from a friend. It said, “God laid you on my heart and I prayed for you.” I cried. Not only was she obedient to pray for me, but she took the time to let me know she prayed for me!

I learned a lesson that day. We not only need to pray for people – we also need to let them KNOW we are praying for them. It’s important. It matters. I’ve been guilty of praying for people without letting them know. It takes such a short time to let a person know you are praying for them – especially if you can just shoot an email to them.

And if you think you’re all alone and nobody is praying for you…  think again.  Christ Himself prays for you!

Thank You, Lord, for my friends who pray for me every day! I feel those prayers! Please help me to be a good friend and pray for them as well – and to let them know I’m praying for them!

Let me know what you think!!!