CLEAN UP YOUR ROOM DAY

TL 5-10 CLEAN UP YOUR ROOM DAY

I’m not sure how it happens, but the moment I get my laundry all finished and put away – the hamper is full again! It’s magic! Not a good magic, but a very sadistic and twisted magic. And dust bunnies multiply at ten times the rate of their animal counterparts.

Today is CLEAN UP YOUR ROOM DAY!!! While I’m sure the day is meant to encourage children to clean their personal space, it also serves as a reminder to adults. Believe me, I know how to procrastinate with the best of them. If there is an excuse to not clean, I’ll use it. There are more fun things I could be doing.

How much energy does a person use when they are doing housework? Let’s take a look.

If you mop the floor for half an hour it burns 112 calories! If you get on your hands and knees and scrub the floor it burns a whopping 200 calories! Vacuuming for half an hour burns about 90 calories. Scrubbing the dishes by hand instead of putting them in the dishwasher will burn about 160 calories in a half hour. I don’t know about you, but the last time I spent a half hour washing dishes was after a family Thanksgiving dinner!

Although housework is a thankless job, there is a sense of accomplishment when you get done and everything looks neat and tidy – for about five minutes! It’s still worthwhile to tackle it though – and today is the day to go for it!

Get the whole family involved in the cleaning. After all, everyone makes the mess, so everyone should have to help with the cleaning. Besides, with help the job gets done much faster! The kids can learn basic organizational skills by watching how well you organize your space.

So parents, encourage the kids to clean their personal space – and plan to make housework your workout today! ❤

Let me know what you think!!!