A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

Do you know a control freak?  Maybe you ARE a control freak.  Who determines what you will do today?  I think sometimes, especially here in America, we’re so accustomed to being FREE and having that FREE WILL in living, it’s easy for us to believe we are in complete control of every aspect of our life.

Some people think if they hit the gym every day and pulverize some veggies to replace home cooking – they will somehow hang on to youth and vitality in life.  You do know that even America’s toughest trainer will one day grow old, get weak, and die, right?  There comes a point when we will all be dependent – and that scares some people.

Now, that’s not to say that we just curl up and give in…  I’m sure not a fan of that either.  God wants us to be happy and healthy and take care of ourselves – and He doesn’t mind if we are independent as we live our lives – He just doesn’t want us to be detached from Him.  He created us because He wanted someone to talk with – and through prayer, we talk and listen to our Heavenly Father.  Do you ever wonder though – why does God want to be my friend?  What is so interesting about me that He should care?  I don’t know the answer, but I’m sure glad He does care, aren’t you?

Oh I like that devotional so much!  I use a lot of those old sayings, because I learned them from my parents – lol.  I don’t think it’s a bad thing to say them as long as we know that they are old sayings – and NOT the gospel truth from God’s Word.

Isn’t it sad when people ignore God until they need something – or get in a bind?  God wants to hear from us on a regular basis – and He wants to hear about laundry day just as much as He wants to hear how much money I need.  He always wants to hear praises to Him – He inhabits our praise!  We love and praise Him all the time, whether there are needs to share with Him or not.  Every day is Thanksgiving in a Christian’s life.  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

