DAISY’S COLT

Today’s post is a special Children’s story for Palm Sunday, written by Lucinda Berry Hill & Linda Palmer, with beautiful illustrations by Marian Poppy Ballestero.   We are so excited to share with you our story…

DAISY’S COLT

Daisy Lou the donkey

Was tied up to a post

Waiting for her master

Right near her little Hope.

Two men had come beside them

And announced, “Daisy Lou,

You need to come with us –

There’s a job for you to do.”

 

“A job for me?  What could it be?”

Daisy thought and thought.

But soon the momma realized

The job was for her colt.

 

A journey to Jerusalem

Was what the job would be;

A ride was needed to the town

For Jesus Christ the King.

Before Daisy let the men

Lead little Hope away,

She had a few instructions

She felt she had to say:

 

“Take firm and steady steps

And always look ahead;

With your ears always up,

Listen closely to what is said.

 

Follow His directions,

Even if they don’t seem right.

Listen and obey…

You’re gonna do alright.

 

I’m proud that you’ve been chosen

For this purpose by the Lord.”

And with that, she waved goodbye

To little Hope moving forward.

 

They reached their destination

And little Hope was quite surprised;

For standing there beside her

Was the blessed Jesus Christ!

 

The man put clothes upon her back

Where Jesus took a seat;

Then they began a journey –

Little Hope and Christ the King.

 

They traveled to Jerusalem,

Where they were met with praise.

Hope was feeling honored

To be chosen for this day.

 

“Imagine such a thing!”

As she walked, the young Hope beamed.

“Instead of a majestic horse,

The King has chosen me!”

People laid out branches

In the streets that lie before them.

“Blessed is the King!”, they yelled –

They loved and they adored Him.

 

When her mission was complete,

Hope ran back to Daisy.

“I did just what you taught me,

I listened, wasn’t lazy.

To Jerusalem I carried

Our great and mighty King.

Thank you for the lessons, momma,

That you’re always teaching me.

 

Listening paid off –

The King really is quite smart.

He never once lead me astray;

Now I trust Him with my heart.

 

Jesus loves me… little me.

He used me on His special day.”

Little Hope leaped through the fields

With a giggle and a bray.

*********************************

Please do us a favor.  If you decide to print this story and share it with little ones, would you take a moment to leave us a comment below?  We love knowing that our stories are being shared!  Thank you so much.

It’s our hope and prayer that you will print this and share it with the little ones in your life.  Isn’t it wonderful that the Lord has a purpose for everything and everyone – He even had a job for a little colt named Hope.  Peace be with you today.

Oh…  I’ve made a slideshow on YouTube also!  I hope you will watch and read the story and then give it a thumbs-up and leave some love for us in the comments.  Have a blessed day and thanks in advance.  🙂

Thank you Lucinda and Marian – and I know you join me in praising God above for helping us put this together as only HE can!  With me in Kansas, Lucinda in Pennsylvania, and Marian in the U.K. – clear yonder across the pond…  you KNOW this is a real GOD THING!  We love and praise You always, our Lord and Savior, for what only YOU can bring together!  ❤

10 comments

  1. Edwina Michel · April 6

    I don’t have any little ones. But I loved it. It was so sweet. And I loved the pictures. Thanks to all of you! I will pass it on. 💗💕💗

    Liked by 1 person

    • hearthunger · April 6

      Oh thank you so much, Edwina! We appreciate your positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed it and will share.

      Like

  2. Karan Hisle · April 9

    What a beautiful and sweet message. I will read it to my grandbabies. Thank you, Lird, for giving these ladies the beautiful words to share regarding your love for us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • hearthunger · April 9

      I’m so glad you like our Palm Sunday story, Karan. God bless you!

      Like

  3. Nancy Morrish · April 9

    Great story and will share with friends and grandchildren!

    Liked by 1 person

    • hearthunger · April 9

      Thank you so much, Nancy! I hope your grandchildren and friends like it. ❤

      Like

  4. Derrick Jennings · April 9

    Awesome Children’s story. Can’t wait to share with them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jeanette · April 14

    Thank you for sharing…I can’t wait to share it with my granddaughter. She loves to read, and who better to read about than our Lord.

    Liked by 1 person

    • hearthunger · April 26

      I’m so glad you like “Daisy’s Colt”, Jeanette! God bless you! ❤

      Like

Let me know what you think!!!

