A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

Why is there a music staff at the top of this design?  Well, I’m glad you asked…  because every time I read these verses, I SING THEM!  It’s one of many songs I learned as a child and I can’t shake it – not that I’d want to…  but earworms can be…  um – distracting.  Every teacher will tell you that memorizing Scripture is easier if it’s done with a tune – and it’s true.

I taught Sunday School for over 30 years…  I have a lot of Scripture earworms, but this one is my favorite.  I love that calypso beat – and imagined myself relaxing on a beach somewhere on particularly stressful days.  Hey – every child is not well-behaved, but for the most part I taught some sweet kids, I must say.

Just as Amazing Grace is a favorite hymn worldwide, this is without a doubt the favorite portion of Scripture for Christians everywhere!  Why?  Because it sums up the gospel of Jesus Christ and His sweet promise to those who will believe with their whole heart and mind.  We are promised eternal life with Him.  That’s quite a promise indeed!

Equally as exciting is that God didn’t send His Son to earth to condemn us – there is no condemnation.  For those who have accepted Christ into their hearts and lives…  there is only salvation!  We don’t even have to think about condemnation of any kind – and if that doesn’t make you happy in the Lord, I don’t know what would.

Why would God’s children want to suck lemons instead of drink sweet lemonade (sweetened with Splenda, of course)?  Christians have a great reason to smile…  we have a blessed HOPE.  So many times, though, we look a bit like…

I mean – unless you are Stonewall Jackson, who ate lemons (skin and all)…  there’s no reason to be sour.  Because lemons are so sour, they are to be used sparingly – a slice in your water or tea.  It improves your alkaline and rids your body of acid.  An acidic body tends to promote cancer.  Yet Stonewall Jackson died in spite of his lemon eating habit…  huh.

But… sour is not the reaction we expect when such good news is announced!

Praise God for His indescribable gift to you.  Words don’t do it justice…  ’nuff said.  🙂

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

