A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

a-commentary-from-the-heart-48ecclesiastes-3-10-12 What God-given tasks are done every day?  Do you know a doctor or a nurse?  Certainly, what they do is very important to their patients – and praise God, He gave them the intelligence to take good care of sick people!  Do you know a clown?  What a unique gift to be given by God – the ability to make others forget their problems for just a little while – and make them laugh.  The list goes on and on…  do you know a pastor?  I couldn’t be a pastor – pastor’s are definitely called by God.  They are special people and are much more patient than me.

We call our jobs vocations or careers – but in reality, we choose to do what the Lord has given us to do – that’s why we enjoy what we do.  I’ve had jobs in my lifetime – and believe me, they were jobs – just a way to make a little extra money.  Now that I’m retired and writing…  I am so much more happy because this is what God wants me to do.  I don’t get paid – but payment comes in different forms.  Money really isn’t everything – we just need it to buy things.

It’s a wonderful feeling to submit to God’s will in your life and have a sense of accomplishment in the bargain.  Success isn’t always wrapped around a dollar amount.  Sometimes it comes in the form of encouragement or a simple “Amen” in the comments of your blog.  Bloggers need encouragement like everyone else.

Does the task you perform to make a living also make God smile?  If you’re just doing a job to make a little extra money, I want to encourage you to re-think the way you spend your time.  Is there more you want to do with your life?  I remember thinking that the time I spent sitting in a cubicle at the office was time I was never going to get back.  I decided my time is worth more to me than the money they paid me to spend it there.

Speaking of tasks…  with some help from my friends, Lucinda Berry HIll and Marian Poppy Ballestero – there will be a very special blog post on April 9th, Palm Sunday.  Please pray for this project, for I hope it is the first of many.  I won’t spoil the surprise – you’ll just have to wait.

To rejoice in the goodness of God and do good in life is what it’s all about.  I want to do tasks that use my God-given gifts, don’t you?  🙂

 

Let me know what you think!!!

