A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

a-commentary-from-the-heart-2colossians-3-910Is a little white lie still a lie?  Does it really count?  What harm does it do?  If you omit information, knowing that it’s going to make a difference in the meaning of what you’re saying – is that considered a lie too?  When I meet a friend who has just gotten a new hairstyle – and she’s all hopped up about it – and I’m – well… less than enthused.  Is it okay for me to just be silent and smile.  Maybe I could say, “I’m so happy that this change has improved your outlook on life!”  Am I lying, or am I sparing her feelings and our friendship?

What is a lie?  Well – it is the absence of truth, obviously.  Lies are harmful, and too many lies told are dangerous.  Why does God have a problem with us telling lies?  Our Lord can’t be anywhere that truth doesn’t live.  Lies go against God’s very nature!  He is truth – He is light.  He’s about complete honesty and wants us to be that way too.

I enjoy Women’s Ministries.  Most women I know need a respite from everyday life – and Women’s Ministries is a perfect break for them.  Our group had secret sisters.  Yes, I know that it doesn’t always work out – there are some who give and give and…  as well as those who take and never give.  I’m familiar with the scenario.  That’s when you step in and do a little extra giving for those who just want to take.  At least that’s how I handled it if I was made aware of it.

At the beginning of each year, we filled out slips that ask basic questions about what you like and enjoy.  I was always tempted to write A MILLION DOLLARS on my slip – but never did.  There were questions like, “What’s your favorite color?”, “What do you collect?” – etc.  I have so many collections, not because I meant to do that – but because other people started collections for me.  Ha!  One lady began a PIANO collection for me.  Another started giving me BASKETS.  The only collection I started for myself was ANGELS.  So – I wrote ANGELS on my slip.

I had no idea who got my name, but I knew she didn’t know the difference between angels and fairies.  I got a fairy for every occasion that came along.  So…  amongst the angels, there is a little army of fairies.  My point is…  calling this sweet little lady on that would serve absolutely no purpose.  That’s not why we have secret sisters – we do it to remember one another – and I was remembered.  That’s all that matters.pray-for-your-heart

God wants us to tell the truth – but He wants us to be kind and compassionate and considerate of other people’s feelings too.  I actually love those little fairies.  If they were angels, I may not be reminded of her as often – and I may forget to whisper her name to the Lord when I pray.  She’s a precious soul to God and my very special sister in Christ.

We’re to be truthful – but not hurtful.  Ask God for the right words to say.  🙂

 

Let me know what you think!!!

