A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (16)

 And this is the promise that He has promised us—eternal life.  – 1 John 2:25

God is not a man – so He never goes back on any promises He makes.  If you have not heard anything positive yet today…  you just did!  If nothing has given you reason to smile yet today…  this should.  God will keep every single promise He makes to His children!  You can take His Word to the bank – you can bet that His promises can be trusted.

What has He promised us in this portion of Scripture?  He’s promised us eternal life!  We have hope if we are a child of God – that even when this life is over, the best is yet to come!  I’m looking forward to it – not that I’m in a hurry to die – it’s not like that.  I’ll get to Heaven when God says it’s time, for He has stuff for me to do here.  But it’s a comfort to know that I don’t have to agonize about what lies beyond this life.  There’s a peace and an assurance that I’ll be alright because I’ll be with my Lord.  There’s no better place to be.

This promise of eternal life in Heaven is for all who have repented of their sins and believe in the Lord Jesus Christ with all their heart, soul and mind.  Those who lead a holy life will one day live with God in Paradise.  We can’t base the promise on intellect or strength or any other sort of measure – believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and you will be saved.

This is good news!  This is hope for anyone who is feeling as if there is no hope.  God has made provision for us and today He is telling us that we may rest in the assurance that we will live beyond this limited time on planet earth – in Heaven – with Him.

I’m reminded of an old hymn – Blessed Assurance.  I know – I’m old – but I still love the old hymns of the church.

So…  today if you are needing a reminder as you continue your Christian walk…  if you need to be uplifted, empowered and injected with some positivity…  here ya go!  Be strong and keep the faith.  The best is yet to come – God says so!  🙂

 

Let me know what you think!!!

