A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

a-commentary-from-the-heart-35

And when he had removed him, he raised up unto them David to be their king; to whom also he gave their testimony, and said, I have found David the son of Jesse, a man after mine own heart, which shall fulfil all my will.  – Acts 13:22

God brought David from a shepherd boy to a great king, and called him a man after His own heart.  As we explore the heart of man, we need to ask a few questions:

  • How do I know I’m truly converted?
  • If the Holy Spirit was withdrawn from my life, how long would it take me to notice?
  • How much alone time do I spend with God?
  • Do I practice obedience in the small things God gives me to do?

Every person who has a heart after God’s heart must walk with the assurance that they are truly converted.  Going to church every week and following the rules put forth by the church does not necessarily mean a person’s heart is converted.  Jesus must be your personal Savior and not your religion – those are two separate and distinct things.  ❤

When Christ was ready to ascend to Heaven, He left us the most precious gift of all…  His precious Holy Spirit!  Would you notice if He went away?  He will never leave you unless you tell Him to (who would do that?) – but seriously, how self-sufficient are we?  Scripture tells us to lean on Him and not on our own understanding.  The world would call Him a “crutch”, but I have a different take on it.  God’s Holy Spirit knows the future – I can’t think of a single “crutch” in this world that has that knowledge – I know some that claim to, but none that really do.  ❤

Devotions are not just about opening your Bible and reading two verses, marking your place and checking it off.  That’s certainly a start, but there’s really more to it.  There’s nothing wrong with following a prescribed outline such as Through the Bible in a Year, but if you’re anything like me, you’ll fall behind and feel guilty about it.  It’s better for me to let God’s Holy Spirit lead me to the things I need to see, read, and possibly write about.  ❤

When the Lord leads you to it, He most certainly will lead you through it.  Do you balk or do you obey?  Or, like me, do you sorta balk and stall, then obey?  Some changes are so scary, but if we will be obedient in the small things, God will trust us with the bigger things.  I mean, David started as a shepherd boy…  and what if he had not been obedient – first in the small things – then…  well, he ended up being a king!  ❤

I don’t necessarily want to be a king – but I sure do want to have a heart after God’s own heart.  One day I want Him to say, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant.”  ❤

 

Let me know what you think!!!

