JAMES 1:26 ON 1/26

tl-1-26-james-1-26

Those who consider themselves religious and yet do not keep a tight rein on their tongues deceive themselves, and their religion is worthless.  – James 1:26

I’ve heard it preached from the pulpit my whole life – the tongue is the strongest muscle in the body – and the most deadly.  Is it just me, or are people using that little muscle more today than ever?  It seems to me that everyone wants to be heard, but nobody wants to listen!

Everyone has a RIGHT – but nobody has a RESPONSIBILITY.

A Christian is to hold their tongue – bite it to the point it bleeds at times.  I admit that it’s difficult for me to keep opinions about political views to myself, but I try to stay quiet about them.  Why?  Because God loves everyone and I don’t want something I say about matters that are not eternal or lasting that could act as a stumbling block to a person for whom Christ died.  No matter how wrong I may think they are, I have to look beyond the temporal to the spiritual.  If I start mouthing off with name-calling and so forth, who does that benefit really?  Admittedly, that may make me feel better at the moment, but God’s not pleased with that behavior.

We must learn to rein our tongue in…  it’s a spiritual discipline.  Is it easy?  Oh shoot no – but if you want people to see Christ in your life, you’d better ask yourself, what would Jesus Do (WWJD)?  I can’t imagine that my Savior would include a political endorsement in the Sermon on the Mount.  Um…  no, no not really.  Is it worth losing an opportunity to minister to a precious soul?  If you argue and get ugly, you have lost the opportunity to show Christ to them.  We belong to the Lord and we represent Him at all times.  We don’t get to wear a sign that says, “Out to lunch – be back at 1:00” so we can be more human and opinionated for a while.  And – this is true whether it’s face to face or online.  Just because you’re on facebook – that does not mean your tongue can be any less bridled.  Keep a rein on it.

If you really want to make a difference, show quiet strength.  When Rosa Parks refused to sit in the back of the bus – that was quiet strength and courage.  It was not destructive or violent…  but look at the difference that one act of defiance made – for everyone! 

America demonstrated this quiet strength in the voting booth recently.  A lot of people have held their tongues – but showed up to vote.  It shocked the country – some in a good way – some in a bad way.  Regardless of what side of the political fence you sit on, we need to show respect for the office and for the man in the office…  no ands, ifs or buts.

I’m a city girl, so I’m not sure what a horse bridle actually does.  I assume, of course, that it is to control the animal, but I wanted to know exactly what it’s for.  Keep in mind that we’re to put one of these on our tongues – much like one is put on a horse to maintain control.

I’ll never have a horse or need to know this stuff…  but when applied to my tongue, it should definitely do the job.  Just kidding…  it won’t.  But – if I send thoughts through the Holy Ghost filter, as my mother referred to God’s Holy Spirit – the words that come from my mouth should be better than they would be if they came out unfiltered.

Nobody’s perfect and we all slip from time to time.  God’s forgiveness through Christ is there for those times.  I’m concerned when I hear some folks brag as they claim they have no “filter.”  They think that makes them so cool or something – when really, to my way of thinking, it makes them sad.  I’m sorry they don’t have regard for others in their comments, and I wish they knew God’s Holy Spirit and all that He could do in their life.

I hope you know God through Christ Jesus, and God’s precious Holy Spirit.  With His help, you can have a bridled tongue and His wisdom as you journey through this life.  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

