FRUGALOSITY 101

frugalosity-101

When they were filled, He said to His disciples, “Gather up the leftover fragments so that nothing will be lost.”   – John 6:12

My parents lived through the depression era, so I was the kid with a happy plate every day.  Of course, my mom was a good cook and fixed meals that I had no problem eating, and usually wanted seconds.  :-/

I was raised with the old adage, “Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without!”  Have you ever washed out a baggy and used it again?  Yep, me too.  When I get a present, I save the gift bag (but not the tissue), and write the gift giver’s name on a post-it note and put it inside the gift bag – that way I won’t accidentally use the same bag for their gift.  Little acts of frugality can save you money, honey!

Since our monthly bills are going up and our income is staying the same, that belt has to tighten a little more.  I took a trip to the Dollar Tree to see what I could use in place of higher priced items I’ve used.  Let me tell you about my latest find…

They have the most amazing 2 in 1 laundry detergent / fabric softener!  It may not be the best for anyone who is allergic to scents, because it has a pretty strong lavender scent.  It’s in a lavender color bottle and costs just $1.  It cleans well for less money.  I’m all about the clean, the lavender scent and saving money!  I actually like the lavender scent in my sheets – it helps me get to sleep better (that could be in my imagination…  lol).  I also like the dryer sheets from Dollar Tree.  They are, of course, $1 and seem to work just as well as the brand I used before.  The savings will add up and my clothes will be just as clean and free of static.  I call that a win/win!  🙂BUDGET CUTS

As Lucinda reminds us… we may have to use less expensive products in our everyday lives.  We may even have to give up on a few extras – but we won’t lose our place with the Son.  I love that!

I also found a perfectly good sensitivity / whitening toothpaste at the Dollar Tree.  For $1 I can get my teeth cleaned and whitened for much less money.  The one thing I had to adjust to was the taste of the toothpaste.  I was so used to the mint flavor of my old toothpaste – but after a couple of uses, I’m fine with the less “minty” flavor.  I also think this new toothpaste whitens my teeth better and provides good sensitivity protection.

Little changes that cost less can make a big difference.  You may have to adjust in some ways, but your wallet will leave the Dollar Tree smiling!  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

