A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (17)

The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.  – Psalm 34:18

Would you think it odd if I said in 2017 I want a broken heart?  I think the term means something different in the world than it does in this context.  I want a broken heart and a contrite spirit within me.  I want the Lord to be close to me.  He can’t help me on a daily basis if I keep getting in the way.

The broken heart, and the contrite spirit, are two essential characteristics of true repentance.   – Adam Clarke

I think the world sees contrition as a kind of low self-esteem or self-loathing.  While it is me saying that I’m less and Christ is more, it also acknowledges God’s power – His control, in my life.  A heart has to be broken and a spirit has to be contrite for a soul to repent – otherwise, one just goes through the motions.repent-and-recoverWe repent when we are first saved – and we repent for the sins we commit (yes, we will commit sins – being saved doesn’t make us perfect).  We can run this race with minimal scrapes and bruises if we will remain broken-hearted with a contrite spirit.

Did you know that angels in Heaven rejoice when a person gets saved?  I love to watch baptisms and imagine angels partying and high-fiving in Heaven.  I wonder if our loved ones in Heaven get to see that side of things?  I don’t know – maybe.repentence-rejoicing

Yep – that’s when the angels REJOICE!  I want a broken heart this year.  I will make the LORD my choice in 2017.  I’m giving Him first place – are you?  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

