A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (21)

… where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.  – Matthew 6:21

Your treasure – what you value most…  and your heart, are inseparable.  If your most precious treasures are the ones you can touch, those are also the ones that will one day rust or could be stolen.  The things of this world will not last.  Even money wears thin eventually – literally.my-treasure-boxWhat kind of heart do I want in 2017?  I want a heart that holds eternal treasures!  The hope of eternal life with Christ one day in Heaven.  The peace that only my Savior gives when things in my world seem chaotic.  A joy unspeakable at all times, under all circumstances.  I want to know that my actions and attitudes are pleasing to God, regardless of what others may say or do.the-treasures-i-lay-upThis year I want to be more of an investor and less of a collector.  I want to hug fewer things to me and hug more people.  I want to invest time and effort into mentoring and teaching when God opens the door of opportunity for me.  I hope to keep writing this blog.  I’ve gotten good feedback and interesting conversations started with it, and it’s my hope and prayer that it has uplifted and encouraged you.

The other day I was browsing in an antique store.  If you ever need to be persuaded that things turn to rust and dust – just visit an antique store.  I saw some old sheet music that I was afraid to handle because the paper was so delicate and frail.  The collections of antiques we acquire in this life…  they’re getting older every day.  Even with the best of care, it’s inevitable that they will turn to rust or dust – or both.

Maybe it’s not antiques you want to collect, but brand new shiny things.  Well, along with those brand new shiny things comes a different set of burdens – taxes, insurance, maintenance…  shall I go on???

Riches in Christ…  a heart rich with His grace, peace, love, mercy, and the fruits of God’s Holy Spirit…  those are the treasures I will seek this year.  That’s what I want most of all in my heart.  Don’t you?  🙂

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

