A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (18)

Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.  – Isaiah 40:30-31

This is one of my favorite passages of Scripture.  What a wonderful promise from our Lord – that all we need to do is hope in Him for our strength to renew!  While the world is chasing addictions of all descriptions…  God’s people are hoping in Him.  He’s the One we cling to and put our trust in.  How do we hope in the Lord?  What does that mean?15878639_1869321693312292_2119133539_n

HOPE – just four little letters, but it’s packed with power!  When we make a choice (yes, it’s a choice) to place our trust and faith in the promises of God – with unwavering belief that HE IS ABLE and HE WILL – (not He might or wow, I don’t know – maybe) – that, ladies and gentlemen, is HOPE.  It’s belief on steroids.

Be strong and take heart, all you who HOPE in the LORD.  – Psalm 31:24

If you ask anyone in the world, they will most assuredly tell you that hope is an emotion.  They will tell you they FEEL hopeful.  How sad!!!  No wonder those of this world more often than not FEEL hopeless.  Real hope has nothing to do with emotion.

2

Real hope flies in the face of adversity and bad hair days!  It says, “In SPITE of the circumstances that surround me, I still hang on to HOPE.”  Why?  Because we as Christians have hidden the amazing WORD OF GOD in our hearts and minds.  We don’t always know why things happen, although we know all things work for the good for us.  We know WHO we put our faith and trust in – no matter what’s going on around us.3

Hope is a choice…  a discipline…  it brings with it a peace that passes all understanding.  If you want to buffalo some folks – be at peace in the midst of a storm.  That confuses people faster than anything!  NOT that our goal is to confuse others…  it’s just a funny side effect.loading-my-basket

I have a friend who recently lost her husband.  I am so proud of her!  She has absolutely no signs of hopelessness whatsoever.  She has picked up the pieces and made some adjustments to make things easier for herself.  None of that was easy for her, but with God’s help, she’s done it.  She knows WHO holds her hand in the good times and in the worst of times.

I want that kind of HOPE in my life!  She rocks and has been more of a role model than I think she realizes.  What an encouraging friend she is!

Hope is the key element to surviving any crisis.

“For I know the plans I have for you, ” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you HOPE and a future.”  – Jeremiah 29:11

While I have you here…  can I just tell you a really funny story about this verse?  On M-W-F I go to the gym.  It’s about a 4 mile trip one way.  I have to drive by a donut shop – yeah.  On their sign out by the street, they put the name of the store and underneath it says JEREMIAH 29:11.

God impressed upon me two schools of thought – and one was especially funny.  Of course, the first thought was that the verse was there to say that God planned for that family to open a donut store – and if I buy a donut it will help to prosper them.  That’s probably the meaning most would take from it and the true meaning.

Then God seemed to think I needed a good laugh.  The thought popped into my head that maybe the family donut shop was saying that if I buy one of their donuts – that’s God’s way of prospering me.

Um…  yeah – that’s a stretch – but it sure tickled me!  I really don’t think that buying a donut is God’s way of prospering me.  LOL!

I could hope it is…  but I think that’s called hoping against hope.  HA!

hope-2Anyway, hope is crucial to the Christian life.  HOPE because Jesus loves you.  HOPE that God is at this very moment working out a Heavenly solution to an earthly crisis in your life.  HOPE that your future is in HIS very capable hands.

Those who HOPE in the LORD will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, the will walk and not be faint.  – Isaiah 40:31

In 2017, let’s choose HOPE in the LORD.  Let’s soar, run, walk…  and not faint.  🙂

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

