IT’S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRIST-MAS

tl-12-3-its-beginning-to-look-a-lot-like-christmas

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.  – Isaiah 9:6

When I was a kid, this popular Christmas song played on my parent’s Montgomery Ward record player – yes – the record player / television / radio unit that sat in every American living room back in the early 1960’s.  You know the one I mean…  don’t sit there and act like you don’t remember.  😉curtismathes02And, of course the star singer at Christmas time back in the day was PERRY COMO!  My folks had every Como Christmas album that came out, I think.51t6kcvval-_ss500

untitled-21619zyozrzdllargeperry_como-christmasIf I had to choose a favorite Como Christmas song, it would be “It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas.”  Let’s take a listen:

I know it’s not a terribly meaningful song in a religious sense…  or wait – maybe it is.  Take a look at this poem by Lucinda Berry Hill – it fits the same tune perfectly.  🙂

christmas-is-jesusSo you see, whether you are listening to Third Day, Casting Crowns, Mark Lowry – or Bing Crosby, Perry Como, Andy Williams…  you always remember that Christmas is never Christmas without Christ.  No matter how the world tries to take Him out of the celebration, they can’t – His wonderful name IS CHRIST – and that’s the beginning of Christmas!

Without Him there are no Christmas miracles – just artificial holiday cheer.  I’d rather expect miracles than see a bunch of people who pretend to be cheerful from alcohol or some other resource at hand.  When I see X-mas it just makes me so sad because some folks are literally X-ing away the real reason for the season.  I don’t understand it.  I never will.jesus-candy-cane-prayer

This year when I listen to Como, I’m going to sing Lucinda’s lyrics because I like them much more than the original song’s lyrics!  Let’s celebrate the birth of our Lord this year.  That’s what it’s all about!  Christmas is JESUS!  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

