SHOP SMALL SATURDAY

images-3I’m the first to admit that I spend a lot of time and money at the big box stores like Walmart and Sam’s Club.  It’s convenient and I know what I need will be there for a reasonable price.  But today is going to be different because I’m going to check out some of the small businesses in my own back yard!  I’m excited because many of these stores are filled with unique items that I’d never find at a big box store!

When you’re Christmas shopping, it’s nice to find one of a kind gifts.  There’s nothing like walking into your Walmart after Christmas and seeing a whole rack of the same sweater you got…  am I right?  Maybe it’s a girl thing – but I think guys like to get unique items too.

It’s not easy to maintain a small business, and if we don’t want them to disappear, we need to do our part to frequent and support them.  Today I’m going to share some of my favorites and spark some interest hopefully in shopping at small businesses.

www.lucindaspoetry.webs.com

cyber-mondayIf you have enjoyed this blog through the years, then you will really like Lucinda’s devotional book “A Second Cup with Jesus”.  Her writing is so spot on and heartwarming.  I believe that the Lord will speak to you through it.  ❤images-222

chellees-pieVisit my friend Chellee’s restaurant in Marion, Kansas!  It’s called Aunt Mae’s (named after her mama).  I’m so very proud of her because I know it’s something she has worked hard to accomplish.  Y’all let her know I told ya to come see her, okay?  And save room for some of that delicious cherry pie!  Stay on main street and you can’t miss her place – it’s the cute little white place with a spacious parking lot.  Enjoy!images-218

Check out Todd’s deal for today only…  a 10% discount on orders made today!

images-219

imagesbk2p4f0zSome folks are not into antique shopping like I am…  but there are some amazing antique stores in my area!  I could never pay retail prices for Longaberger baskets, but sometimes I can find some good deals in antique stores and flea markets.

https://www.facebook.com/FlyingMooseAntiqueMall/?fref=ts

The Flying Moose Antique Mall here in Wichita is having some good sales on their stuff through Christmas.  I may see if they have a Longaberger acorn basket – I’m determined to find one for a reasonable price!  I’m patient…  the right one will come along.  😉  I have a few Christmas gifts to shop for as well.  That may be a destination for me today!

images-220

https://www.facebook.com/Hen-Feathers-Quilt-Shop-137758583334/?hc_ref=ADS&fref=nf

If you have a quilter to buy Christmas gifts for, there are discounts to be found at Hen & Feathers Quilt Shop in Wichita, Kansas today!

And Wichitans should also think about supporting the small businesses in Old Town!  Sometimes they have pretty good sales and you’ll find unique items that those big stores don’t carry.

images-217

lifeisagardenparty.blogspot.com

Judy Janowski is the very talented author of a wonderful book called, “Life Is A Garden Party”.  She writes poetry and prose that centers around gardens and the beauty of God’s creation.  If you want to read a book that is uplifting and positive in nature (nature…  see what I did there?)  I think you’ll really enjoy this wonderful book!  Sign up to follow her inspirational blog at this link also.

images-216

Here are the kinds of shops that I like to go in and browse – and by browse, I mean not be rushed through.  LOL!

I like handmade stuff – soaps and such.  I like little boutique shops tucked away…  my heart beats a bit faster when I spot one of these out of the way places!soap-1209344__340

I also like the flower shops that are also antique stores – have you seen any of those?  What an unusual combination, but it works!

best-flower-shop-955621__340

There are literally hundreds of small businesses in communities all over the country.  These are just a few of the possibilities!  Don’t forget to click on these links not only for Shop Small Saturday – but on Cyber Monday also!

On Saturday the 26th of November, plan to shop small.  Bring along a bestie to help you carry your haul.  – seen on facebook today.

buy-1299519__340If you do take a bestie along to help carry your haul…  make sure you buy them a coffee!  I mean, seriously – that would be nice, don’t you think?  When you go to get it, think small…  remember, today is all about supporting the small businesses!  I would go along with a friend and carry bags for a good cup of coffee and girl talk and all that…  jus’ sayin’…  😉

coffee-shop-1149361__340

This special emphasis on small business has taken place the Saturday after Thanksgiving since 2010, and the impact has been felt by small business owners everywhere.  It’s not easy to start a business these days, so everything we can do to support small business owners is greatly appreciated.  🙂

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

