SESAME STREET DAY

tl-11-10-sesame-street-day

As I read up on all things SESAME STREET, one article mentioned that this year marks the 47th anniversary of the popular children’s program!  I couldn’t believe it – where does the time go?  Do you remember watching Sesame Street on your local public television station?

Now, of course, they travel with the stage show Sesame Street Live.  Isn’t it great that the characters come to life for children everywhere?  I wish they would have had that back when I was a kid!  In 1969 I was 8 years old already.  By the time they hit the road – I had hit the road and lost interest in kid stuff.  LOL!

Who is your favorite Sesame Street character?  I think most kids like Elmo the best (certainly since the Elmo doll sold out a few Christmases ago).  My favorite…  wow – I hate to admit it.  I’m just gonna say it real fast…  my favorite is Oscar the Grouch!

I like the Cookie Monster too – but I like Oscar better.  Why would I like him?  I admire him because he’s not afraid to be a grouch.  He lives in a trash can and he’s grouchy.  You know what to expect.  He doesn’t try to be something he isn’t – and I like that.  A curmudgeon’s curmudgeon.  Oscar should write the how-to book on how to be a grouch with grace.  He’s a grouch, you know he’s a grouch, he’s okay if you’re not okay with that.  He doesn’t put on airs or fake being nice.

I wouldn’t have a problem inviting Oscar into my house.  Cookie monster would not be happy at my house because I don’t keep cookies on hand – but I’d try to bake some real quick if I knew he was coming.  Of course, the last batch would be burned.  The last batch that goes in the oven always burn because I get bored with the process and forget about them until the smoke alarm goes off.  :-/  Sigh.

Celebrate Sesame Street with your little ones today.  That’s the most fun, isn’t it?  It’s great to see the looks on their faces when you share something great with them.  Enjoy those moments together.  🙂

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

