DIGITAL SCRAPBOOKING DAY

tl-11-5-digital-scrapbooking-dayEveryone grieves differently.  Some folks want to lock photographs away so they don’t have to look at them and be reminded of their loss.  Others, like me…  well, we tend to invest time, money and effort into preserving photographs the best we can.  We realize that this is all that’s left to cling to of a simpler and perhaps happier time in life.

I was a traditional scrapper for years…  I didn’t say I was an organized scrapper.  I had a room that was set up just for scrapping.  There was room for a table and some plastic bins to keep my papers and other necessary tools in – and even though I was careful to pick up when I was finished, the room was always a mess!  I had ribbons hanging from spools and I just was not happy with the way the room looked overall.

I knew there must be a better way.  I looked into digital scrapbooking in the early 1990’s.  I weighed the cost – actual paper, frames, tools and the latest stamp from Stampin’ Up! was breaking the piggy bank.  I put an ad in my local newspaper and sold all of my STUFF for $500.  Yes, there really was that much!  My room was suddenly cleaned out and it even lightened my soul – I truly believe that!

I took the proceeds and invested in INK for my printer – THAT is the largest expense in digital scrapbooking!  There are literally tons of digital scrapbooking websites out there, and they all offer freebies.  I have not had to pay for backgrounds, papers or tools at all.  Of course, these freebies are for personal use only.  That’s fine with me – it’s my scrapbook and not for the world to see.  Would the world be interested?  Um…  probably not.  But here are a few nice designs that others made with SCRAPBOOK MAX!images-34

images-35untitled-6untitled-4That’s the same “leaf frame” I used in my banner today.

untitled-3untitled-2untitledimagesrqv6dgq2

There is a one time expense to get a quality scrapbooking program.  I chose SCRAPBOOK MAX!

images-39

http://www.scrapbookmax.com/?gclid=Cj0KEQjw4_DABRC1tuPSpqXjxZwBEiQAhMIp6zBndMaWc1miisz-0uITWNGozsevyzc7C9hNnA4p_5MaAoWb8P8HAQ

It costs $40 and has a few free sets included. You can add as many sets as you want, but I’ve not bought any additional sets.  I go on different digital scrapbooking sites and grab up freebies.  I have about 50 flash drives filled with free scrapbooking offers.  I also use cute stuff from Pinterest and pretty much anywhere from the internet – I’m not breaking any copyright laws because it’s just going in my personal scrapbook.  Who’s gonna know (or care)???

SCRAPBOOK MAX! will send you a CD which is helpful because there’s always a chance you can lose it on your computer.  Don’t ask me how I know that.  :-/  Yeah, I’ve had to re-install it a time or two.

Digital scrapbooking has eliminated the clutter around me.  It’s given me more freedom to create than traditional scrapbooking.  It’s the method I prefer to be sure.  I know a lot of women like to have stamps and scissors and paper and tangible materials around them, but I don’t.  I want flash drives in a basket that I can grab quick and use to create magnificent scrapbook pages.

It takes some time, but once in a while you run across a free set!  Yay!!!  Also, at crafthub.com, they help you find all sorts of digital freebies!  I have more time than money, so I don’t mind searching the internet for free scrapbooking elements and sets.

images-40

On a good day, you will find this:images-41

After you do your HAPPY DANCE – you download and leave some love for the nice people who made it FREE for the taking!  🙂

Lucinda wrote a poem about Jesus’ Scrapbook.jesus-scrapbook

We chatted a bit yesterday about this poem and she commented that Jesus’ scrapbook is probably not DIGITAL.  LOL!  I’m not sure that matters – as long as He has our photos and other good stuff in there, right?  😉

Our memories are worth keeping.  Some days, I just get my scrapbooks out and start looking through them.  They help me remember my family and friends.  🙂

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

