WORLD MENOPAUSE MONTH

tl-october-is-world-menopause-monthI used to sleep at night…  now, I write – and write – and write some more!  I used to eat larger meals…  now, I order off the senior menu at Denny’s.  I usually don’t have a happy plate when I’m finished either.  I drink coffee in excess and less water – but I’m working on getting that changed around.  If it sounds as though I’m complaining, forgive me…  I’m not.  I keep telling myself that I am blessed – a hysterectomy was necessary to get rid of ovarian cancer.  It didn’t spread and I’m alive.  I’m alive to complain about these changes!

gods-got-youAll I ask is that you ignore me when I’m standing at Braum’s with the freezer door open, frantically fanning cold air on myself.  Just act like it’s a perfectly normal thing to do.  Feel free to join me if you’d like.  Let’s have a party – the more the merrier!

Isn’t it fun when you walk into a room and just stand there at the door thinking, “OK, why did I come in here?”  Mentalpause!  That mental pause you need in order to grasp your bearings is enough to make you want to carry one of those voice-activated mini-recorders around with you.  You can say to it, “I’m going to the kitchen to take my morning pills.”  Then when you get to the kitchen, play it back.  Yeah – that’s one option.

How much warning do you get before a hot flash happens?  I don’t get any warning – is that normal?  I can be going about my business one minute and look as though I’ve just swam the English Channel the next because my hair is wet.  It’s embarrassing!  I’ve tried to find a more flattering hair style to deal with these new challenges.  I’ve decided there isn’t one…  so I’ve learned to like hats.  I never really thought of wearing hats back in my 20’s, 30’s or 40’s – but this gal sports a hat most of the time these days.  I have a nice variety of hats – I even have a red hat with a purple ribbon.  That never made sense to me when I was younger.  Now…  ah – it’s all making so much more sense to me!  Red Hat Society…  sign me up!

My moods swing like a pendulum sometimes.  I’m not sure how much of that is lack of sleep, but I’m sure the majority of times it is a direct result of insomnia.  I hesitate to take a PM medicine that promotes sleep since I already take an NSAID most mornings for arthritis pain.

Nope – still not complaining!  Just so ya know…  just assessing the changes since the change.

My mother’s generation referred to it as THE CHANGE OF LIFE.  I remember wondering how much different life could get.  Now I know.  Wish I had my mom around to talk with.  It’s funny, she always told me that when my hair turned gray, it would turn a very pretty gray.  I remember thinking, “Oh that will be a long time from now…”  Well – BOOM – here I am, gray hairs and all.  When a natural blonde turns gray, sometimes it can look a bit mousey and dull.  Mine isn’t mousey and for that I’m thankful.  I’m pretty sure my mom would laugh if she could see me now.  Yeah – we’d giggle together.  ❤

Lately I’ve seen the ads for Crepe Erase – it’s supposed to get rid of the elephant skin – well, I don’t care because this body is never going to pose on a beach in a bikini like Jane Seymour – so…  no sale.  Sorry.  Age and weight loss is an interesting combination.  I’m not sorry I lost the weight though because my overall health is so much better.

My neighbor caught me in the back yard last winter after a heavy snow.  He apparently thought it was odd that I was rolling around in it.  I made a feeble attempt to explain, but it just turned into muttering as I walked away from him toward my back door.

Even though it’s called MENopause, I’ve not been impressed with any man’s understanding of it.

We bought a new vehicle a few years back – one of the best-selling points for me was the dual temperature control – I can set my temperature at 60 degrees in the middle of winter – YES!

There’s an interesting dynamic in our house every winter.  My husband takes blood thinners and gets cold very easily.  So, he cranks the heat up to who knows where and I’m wearing very little because I’m dying of heat stroke.  Is it any wonder I go to the back yard and roll in the snow?

I should charge admission…  it’s apparently quite entertaining.  Huh…  I’ll have to think about that.  🙂

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

