LUKE 10:27 ON 10/27

tl-10-27-luke-10-27-on-10-27

He answered, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’  – Luke 10:27

All means all – not just whatever part of your heart, soul and strength happens to be leftover after you’ve loved everything else that competes for your affection.  It’s so easy to love the things down here, isn’t it?  They are things we can see with our eyes and feel with our hands and sometimes smell a pleasant aroma.  We all have the struggle – at some time or another.  It’s a struggle to love God more than the people, places or things that surround us.  God is a jealous God and He wants all our heart, soul and strength.

share-a-smile-and-the-wayWe love God wholeheartedly by loving each other.  It’s so cool how that works, isn’t it?  We treat each other with mutual respect and with true love – an agape’ love that shows the love of Christ.

I met a sales person today at JC Penney that helped me above and beyond the call of duty.  She was not only doing her job, but I knew that she had a genuine concern for me as a person.  Maybe she could detect my frustration with the process of purchasing drapes – I don’t know.  It really can be frustrating when you need an economical solution for odd-sized windows.  I didn’t want to have to buy custom-made curtains.  Rich, I ain’t.

Between a couple of phone calls, she gave me her undivided attention.  She was patient and soft-spoken, which gave me hope that a low-cost solution could be found.  She was doing her job, yes – but she chose to do it with an extra dose of Christian love.  We all need to love God with everything in us and love people with the love that God gives us in return.

By the time my shopping excursion was over, we were laughing and chatting about all sorts of things!  The best news of all…  she helped me solve my drapery need for an odd sized window for under $20 including tax.  I was so very pleased.  I think I even jumped up and down – but I definitely gave her a big hug and thanked her.  I said, “God bless you” and that’s when I knew without a doubt that she and I serve the same Master.  How cool is that?

I wanted to invite her to my house for tea.  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

