A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (28)Garage sales are EXHAUSTING!!!  We’re in the midst of a community-wide sale right now.  My husband and I are just ready for it to be over…  we’re so tired.  I think the part I hate the most is digging around in the recesses of my closets for items that I wasn’t aware I owned because they’ve never been used or worn or whatever.  Have you ever seen a bamboo pole with a back scratcher on one end and a shoe horn on the other end?  Well, me neither…  but I apparently had one!  I say I HAD one because I sold it today – I no longer have it.  It can go live in the recesses of someone else’s closet for a while.

It’s a lot of work, but at the same time it’s a bit like taking a deep cleansing breath of cool mountain air.  After being surrounded by what can only be categorized as JUNK for over ten years, I’m now free to buy new STUFF to replace the old JUNK.  Of course, in another ten years that STUFF I buy now will be considered JUNK.  And so the cycle continues…

It’s fun and keeps us out of prison.

I’ll be honest, along with the work of gathering the junk, tagging the junk and organizing the junk – there is a huge sigh of relief when you have finally SOLD the junk.  When we counted up our earnings today, I looked at my husband and said, “It would have taken me two weeks working full time to make this much!”  It’s a sort of high when you see how quickly the pile of dough stacks up.

Of course, the other side of that high is the trip back to reality – when you realize you sold two recliners and now must replace them with two others – from somewhere.  It’s fun to sit on an orange crate to watch TV – for about a day.  The novelty has worn off and I really need to get myself in gear and get a new chair.

Here’s a chair similar to the one I want:

_35It’s selling on eBay for $300.  I can probably do that.  I’m not sure.  Has anyone heard of the brand POUNDEX?  See…  sometimes if I don’t recognize the brand name, I’m like…  um…  but the price is definitely not bad.  I don’t know – I’ll keep lookin’.  I like to actually sit in a recliner before I buy it – I’m funny that way.

Garage sales are exhausting – but there are rewards to follow.  We just think about the rewards.  Alrighty then…  I’m gonna go soak my feet.  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

