OVARIAN CANCER AWARENESS MONTH

TL SEPTEMBER IS OVARIAN CANCER AWARENESS DAY

5-8 OVARIAN CANCER SYMPTOMS

http://www.whyteal.org/

I know that May 8th is National Ovarian Cancer Awareness Day, but the month of September is dedicated to educating women about ovarian cancer.

For me, it was not so subtle – and the timing was a God thing.  Since I’m retired, I don’t typically dress up for any reason unless it’s for church.  It’s not unusual to see me in sweat pants in the winter or capris in the summer with a large tee shirt most of the time.

But it was around Easter and I went out to buy an Easter dress.  I tried it on at the store and it fit fine.  I got the dress out on Sunday and when I put it on, it was suddenly too tight!  I knew that was strange because it fit so well in the dressing room at the store.

A voice – inner voice – God’s voice – prompted me to call my doctor.  I told her what happened and she asked some questions, then referred me to an OB/GYN.  Things happened very quickly from there.

I hardly had time to think, let alone process.

The bottom line is, the more information we share about this killer, the more likely women are to pay attention to changes in their bodies… and that’s what needs to happen.  If you ignore them or pass them off as getting older or eating a little too much, you could wait too long and it could be too late.

The ovaries are so small and the cancer does not stay contained there for long.  It doesn’t take long for the cancer to begin to spread.  Once that happens, it’s much more difficult to treat.  I’m not saying that to frighten you – but if you suspect something and need to be frightened into getting it checked out – then I’m glad I scared you.

Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month: Symptoms, risk factors and more

Ovarian cancer is not detected in any routine test.  It really is up to every woman to know her own body and when something odd happens, call for an appointment immediately!

untitled (2)

Menopause is not a picnic, but it beats the alternative.  Don’t get me wrong…  I’m ready to go to Heaven, but I’m thankful that God still wants to use me here on earth for a while longer.  Maybe God knew that I’d work to help educate women by telling them about my experience and encourage them to see a doctor if they suspect something is not right.  🙂

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

