NATIONAL WILDLIFE DAY

TL 9-4 NATIONAL WILDLIFE DAY

http://www.nationalwildlifeday.com/

According to the Bible, animals point to God as creator, as love, as designer and artist.  They are a gift to man.  To be around wildlife lowers blood pressure (unless you are being chased by an angry lion), and causes us to feel more relaxed.

I remember the day Lucinda wrote this first poem.  I had read that baby zebras are called DAZZLES which made me chuckle.  When I think of something that dazzles, my mind goes more toward a disco ball from the 1970’s than to a baby zebra!  Well, it turns out I wrote a poem that talked about dazzles and she did too.  For some reason, I can’t find mine – LOL.  But here’s Lucinda’s poem, Dazzles and Ducklings.

DAZZLES & DUCKLINGSTURTLE JOE'S STORYYELLOW WARBLERCRITTERS GREAT & SMALLGOD'S NATUREFEATHERS ON A BIRDI love animals…  domestic and wild.  Once in a while a photo of wildlife inspires me to write a poem or some other piece.  God has created such a diverse group of animals for us to enjoy and care for.  How could we not take a moment today to celebrate the magnificent world we live in?

https://www.facebook.com/nationalwildlifeday

Make sure you stop by and LIKE their facebook page.

I grew up watching Mutual of Omaha’s WILD KINGDOM.  Ah…  I see hands raising all over – you did too!  Wasn’t that a great show?

I never missed an episode!  Animals fascinate me.  The Creator obviously has a wonderful sense of humor and admires diversity in His creation.  We humans should take a cue from Him and start appreciating and admiring the differences in other human beings.  I heard a few AMENS I think.

An animal’s eyes have the power to speak a great language.  – Martin Buber

If you have a wildlife reserve or zoo in your area, maybe today would be a good time to visit, while the weather is a little cooler in most places, yet not too cold yet.  Of course, here in Wichita we have the Sedgwick County Zoo.  It’s tempting to schedule a visit today – it does sound like fun.

Wildlife doesn’t always mean animals that live in the jungle.  Our turtle JOE lives in our lake, but he’s wild.  I wouldn’t dream of trying to trap him and take him in the house.  Our warbler flew in one morning when I was sitting out on the deck trying to concentrate.  What a noisy bird, but God had a message to convey, and if I had not heard the bird, I may not have taken the photo and the poem would not have been written.

Whether you get to go to a wildlife refuge, zoo or a park close to your house, observe God’s creation – think about how different every animal looks.  How some are big and slow while others are tiny and quick!  There is an endless supply of entertainment when you sit and watch animals…  or sometimes even people.  God takes such good care of us and I guess He wants to make sure we are not bored.  🙂

 

Let me know what you think!!!

