COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (21)IMG_1323

There’s only one thing better than eating low-carbohydrate foods…  and that’s eating them on our antique dishes!  😉  We enjoy our autumn leaf pattern Jewel Tea dishes!

I’m learning what foods keep my blood sugar happy – YAY!  There’s a popular spot here in Kansas called THE BROOKVILLE HOTEL where they have just one meal on the menu, but folks come from miles around to enjoy their wonderful food!  They make everything the old-fashioned way with nothing “diet”.

I’ve tweaked the coleslaw recipe so that I can have it anytime I want.  Here is my low-carb version of this classic:

COLESLAW

Yield: 12 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Whipping Cream
  • 2/3 cup Splenda (or less to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/3 cup vinegar
  • 1 1/2 pounds shredded cabbage

Instructions:

Combine dressing ingredients and refrigerate 30 minutes before serving.

To serve mix with 1 1/2 pounds shredded or thinly sliced cabbage.

I never imagined I could eat a sandwich without bread, but I do because it makes my blood sugar happier.  Cheese is low or no carb and meat is completely legal.  In the days to come, as I learn more, I’ll share with you!

Up to this point, I know that I need to workout for an hour, 3 days a week and eat a very low carb diet.  On the days I don’t workout, I still stay as active as possible.  I usually take a brisk walk around my neighborhood for about a half hour.

http://www.brookvillehotel.com/

Brookville, Kansas was the original home of the hotel, but they were unable to stay there – so now they have a replica of the hotel built in Abilene, Kansas.  The food is still amazing, but it was sad to see them have to move from their original location.  The original old hotel was interesting to see.  Part of it was a bank – and we got to eat in the vault one time.

As you can see, the Brookville Hotel makes everything the old-fashioned way with real ingredients.  It’s yummy, but most of what they fix is high in carbohydrates.  Part of living a low-carb lifestyle means that you take the best foods on the menu and make them “legal” to eat.  I’m glad I could do that with the great coleslaw from the Brookville Hotel.  🙂

 

Let me know what you think!!!

