SATCHMO DAYS

TL 8-4 THRU 8-7 SATCHMO DAYS

The legendary Louis “Satchmo Pops” Armstrong is the most recognizable icon in music history.  There’ll never be another like him.  The Satchmo Summerfest will be happening in New Orleans.  There will be music dedicated to the great man himself as well as seminars and great food.  http://www.fqfi.org/satchmo

All music is folk music. I ain’t never heard a horse sing a song.  – Louis Armstrong

Here’s a bit of his book entitled Satchmo:  My Life in New Orleans

“In all my whole career the Brick House was one of the toughest joints I ever played in. It was the honky-tonk where levee workers would congregate every Saturday night and trade with the gals who’d stroll up and down the floor and the bar. Those guys would drink and fight one another like circle saws. Bottles would come flying over the bandstand like crazy, and there was lots of just plain common shooting and cutting. But somehow all that jive didn’t faze me at all, I was so happy to have some place to blow my horn.” So says Louis Armstrong, a tough kid who just happened to be a musical genius, about one of the places where he performed and grew up. This raucous, rich tale of his early days in New Orleans concludes with his departure to Chicago at twenty-one to play with his boyhood idol King Oliver, and tells the story of a life that began, mythically, on July 4, 1900, in the city that sowed the seeds of jazz.

I have a friend who can imitate Louis Armstrong’s distinctive voice and if you were to close your eyes and hear him sing “Hello Dolly” you would not be able to tell it was not the late great Louis Armstrong!  Can my friend play a horn though?  Nope – sorry.

If anybody was Mr. Jazz it was Louis Armstrong. He was the epitome of jazz and always will be. He is what I call an American standard, an American original.  – Duke Ellington

Hello Dolly!  Um…  I mean…  bye!  Enjoy Satchmo Days!  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

