WHEAT MONTH

TL 7-21 JULY IS WHEAT MONTH

July’s Grain of the Month is Wheat. Worldwide, wheat is the third most-produced grain, trailing only corn (maize) and rice. In the United States, wheat accounts for about two-thirds of all grains consumed. However, much of the wheat we eat is refined (missing its nutritious bran and germ) or enriched (refined grain with just five of the dozens of missing or reduced nutrients added back in). If you eat wheat products, make sure they are whole wheat.WHEAT

Wheat fields are so graceful and agile just before harvest.  They wave in the Kansas wind and are probably the most friendly welcoming committee our state has!  Our crops were good this year – yay!  Most of the state got to harvest before all the really heavy rains hit, so that translates into profits.CHILDHOOD PLAYGROUND

I think it’s funny that I live in Kansas – the bread basket of America – and don’t eat wheat products.  Weird, huh?  Well, I’d support the wheat farmers if I could.  I have a disease that won’t let me eat products made with wheat – so I have to make adjustments.  Even though I can’t eat wheat myself, I can still celebrate wheat month!

Here is a low carb bread recipe.  I say low carb, but it’s more than I usually have.  I suppose on a day when I’m just craving bread so much I would make this, but I’d really have to be desperate.

LOW CARB WHOLE WHEAT BREAD

Makes 16 slices

19g carbs per slice / 9g protein per slice

INGREDIENTS:

1 C. water

1 1/2 C. whole wheat flour

1 1/2 C. medium rye flour

1 Tbs. honey

1 Tbs. molasses

2 Tbs. Vital Wheat Gluten

1 tsp. salt

3 tsp. yeast

1 Tbs. olive oil

INSTRUCTIONS:

Put all ingredients in bread machine on dough cycle.  When that’s complete, shape dough into a log and let rise for one hour.  Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.

It is my goal to have single digit carb count per serving of any food, so 19g carbs for one slice of bread is a bit much for me.  Besides, I haven’t owned a bread maker since 1999.  😉

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

