NATIONAL BLUEBERRIES MONTH

TL JULY IS NATIONAL BLUEBERRIES MONTHSometimes breakfast can be as simple as a bowl of steel-cut oats with a few blueberries on top.  Once in a while I just eat the blueberries by themselves.  I don’t always have to do much prep work to enjoy blueberries.BLUEBERRIES

I’d go to a lot of trouble to make a great coffee cake!  Fortunately, this recipe is not that difficult to follow, so I can have a piece of moist, melt in your mouth coffee cake in the afternoon with coffee.  At only 4g of carbohydrates per piece, there is absolutely no guilt associated with eating it.  That’s a wonderful feeling!

BLUEBERRY CREAM CHEESE COFFEE CAKE

Makes 16 servings, 3g carbohydrates each

INGREDIENTS:

Topping:

1 C. almond flour

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 C. Splenda

1/8 tsp. salt

4 Tbs. butter, chilled & cut into small pieces

Cream Cheese Layer:

6 oz. cream cheese

1 egg

1/4 C. Splenda

Cake Layer:

2 C. almond flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 C. Splenda

1/2 C. sour cream

2 Tbs. oil

2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 C. blueberries

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray 9×9-inch pan with PAM.

Topping:
Mix 1 cup of the almond meal, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, ½ cup sweetener, a pinch of salt and the 4 Tablespoons butter until crumbly. Set aside.
Cream Cheese Layer:
Mix cream cheese, 1 egg, and ¼ cup sweetener. Set aside.
Cake layer:
Mix 2 cups of almond flour, baking powder, baking soda, ¼ teaspoon cinnamon, ½ teaspoon salt, and ¾ cup sweetener (if using a powder). Set dry ingredients aside. Blend the sour cream (or yogurt), oil, extracts, liquid sweetener (if using), and 2 eggs and mix well. Add the mixed dry ingredients and blend well.
Assembly:
Spread the cake layer in the pan, and spread the cream cheese on top (if it’s the larger amount of cream cheese, you won’t be able to spread it evenly, but that’s OK). Then sprinkle the blueberries on the cream cheese and the streusel on the top of that.
Bake for 30-40 minutes or until toothpick not inserted into center comes out clean. Cool and slice.
It’s just as good as it sounds!  Enjoy!  🙂
UPDATE: I just this moment walked in the door from a doctor’s appointment.  My A1c has gone from 8.9 back in April to 6.2!!!  I told her that I’ve not been needing my Levemir and she told me I could discontinue it – PRAISE THE LORD!  But wait…  there’s more…  she also told me that I could take just ONE Metformin in the morning and ONE at night – I was taking TWO in the morning and TWO at night.
First, THANK YOU GOD for guiding me to the right pathway.  And thank you to my friends in the DOC and others on facebook for all the helpful hints, ideas, suggestions and kicks in the rear when I needed them!  And thank you to my doctor for being so patient with me…  for keeping that little voice in my head that said, add regular exercise and cut carbs.
Why do I post this here?  Because there are some who don’t believe that a little activity can make such a big difference in A1c numbers.  It can!  I take a 30 minute walk on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays – and go to PLANET FITNESS to tone up and do more cardio on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.  It takes about an hour – and they have these amazing massage chairs – sitting in one of those is my reward for doing my workout.  That’s what I need – a NON-FOOD reward!
Life abundant is what God wants for all of us…  I challenge you to take the first step toward a healthy and ABUNDANT life.  ❤

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

