A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (3)

I believe the book of James is probably the most difficult book in the Bible to read – not because the words are difficult to pronounce, and there are not any weird names to learn.  It’s difficult because it hits us right in the heart and mind.  The words are so clear – there is no room for misinterpretation, is there?  We get warm fuzzies when we read the book of Psalms, and we feel accomplished after we read through all the begets in some books – but James.  I read it and all I can say is…  OUCH!

The good news is, Jesus paid the price for all our sins long ago, and when I break God’s law (even the stuff found in the book of James), I have the privilege to ask almighty God through His Son, Jesus, to forgive me for my sins.  But I’m nobody special because the same opportunity is available to all who have accepted Christ Jesus as their personal Lord and Savior.

A LEAF IS A LEAF IS A LEAF (from Week 27 of “Coffee with Jesus”)

From a small bud

Grows a leaf.

It could be big.

It could be small.

It could be red, green or yellow.

But no matter what color,

Shape, or size it may be,

It is called a leaf.

 

It is the same with sin.

Whether it’s my sin,

Your sin,

Or the sin of a brother,

It is called sin.

We shouldn’t look at another

And think our sin isn’t as big;

Our sin is still our sin.

It is our wrong.  It is our debt.

It is our sin.

There is no sin too small

That doesn’t need confessed.

And there is no sin too big

That God can’t wash away.

 

Author Lucinda Berry Hill

www.lucindaspoetry.webs.com

There is not a sin worse than any other sin, although as humans we are tempted to say that one is worse than another.  The Ten Commandments are all equal and they all apply to us.  It’s easy to think of one as more or less significant, but in God’s eyes, they are really all the same.  And here’s a newsflash…  it’s not my job to keep track of your sins.  I know that may come as a shock – but nope…  really, I have enough on my plate just keeping up with my own transgressions.

When I offer to share my faith, it’s not because I think I’ve somehow “arrived” and you need to catch up with me (oh pleeeeeze)…  not even close.  I just want everyone to know Christ as their personal Savior and make heaven their home one day – that’s all.

Dear Lord, I am a sinner and I need Your forgiveness. I believe that You died on the cross to pay the penalty for my sin. You did what I could not do for myself, and in humility I accept Your gift of grace. Help me to live a life that is pleasing to You.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

As we’ve discussed in the past, nothing in this world is going to fill that place in your heart except the love of Christ – that hunger in your heart, or HEART HUNGER can only be filled by Him.

If you really keep the royal law found in Scripture, “Love your neighbor as yourself,” you are doing right.  But if you show favoritism, you sin and are convicted by the law as lawbreakers.  For whoever keeps the whole law and yet stumbles at just one point is guilty of breaking all of it.  For he who said, “Do not commit adultery,” also said, “Do not murder.”  If you do not commit adultery but do commit murder, you have become a law-breaker.

Speak and act as those who are going to be judged by the law that gives freedom, because judgment without mercy will be shown to anyone who has not been merciful.  Mercy triumphs over judgment!  – James 2:8–13

Today’s reminder is for all of us to show more MERCY and less JUDGMENT.  I need it, you need it, and I know with God’s help through Christ Jesus, we can do this.  When we show mercy to others, God is pleased and we sparkle and shine for Him!  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

