COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (30)On Memorial Day I looked in the mirror and noticed a lot more gray hairs than ever before.  So many thoughts ran through my mind, including the cost of a professional highlight or color job.  My hair has always had natural highlights and lowlights – the problem is that now those highlights are gray – and they’re starting to wash me out!

I’ve noticed some posts on facebook lately advertising the newest summer hair colors and styles – one of the popular colors is called COFFEE BLONDE.  Hmm…  I thought…  coffee!  It peaked my interest and I started searching the internet.  I found several articles and recipes for natural and chemical-free hair staining.  It’s like a natural henna – and I like the idea of no chemicals damaging my baby fine hair.HAIR STAINIt will probably last until my next shampoo – but the good news is, I’m not going to lose hair like I do when I use the permanent hair color from the box.  There’s no peroxide and no real danger involved.  The amount of instant coffee granules, brewed coffee and conditioner is so inexpensive.  I don’t know about you, but I never use my shampoo and conditioner at the same rate – I have tons of leftover conditioner!  It’s really a win/win.  I can afford to do this just before I wash my hair – not a big deal.

There’s only one side effect (if you can call it that)…  my hair smells like COFFEE.  LOL!!!

It’s just one more frugal thing to try just for fun.  If you want  a dramatic red/burgundy, you can use beet juice.  A cinnamon tea also leaves a bit of brownish/red tint (and the scent would be good too).  Of course for years blondes used mayonnaise or lemon juice in addition to their regular shampoo and conditioner to make their hair shine.

If you are daring and want a more dramatic change, how about sugar-free KOOL-AID???  Yeah – and it’s pretty simple.  The results will show up more on dry hair than on wet hair – and the lighter your hair is, the more dramatic the color will be.  Here’s what you need:

3-6 packages of SUGAR-FREE KOOL-AID (depending on the length of your hair) in a large glass bowl.  Please make sure it’s sugar-free because you do NOT want sticky hair.

Mix with a little conditioner (about 1/4 cup or so) and some hot water.  Stir until you have a paste-like consistency – don’t add too much water or it will be too runny.

I’d wear gloves because it will definitely stain your skin.  If you do get some on your skin, it can be easily removed – no worries.

If you want all of your hair colored, dunk your head in the bowl and massage paste into scalp and on hair.  Or for streaks, put it only where you want it.

Put long pieces of plastic wrap around your head.  Then put a plastic bag over that and secure with a chip clip or tie in a knot on top.

Sleep in it – yeah, I know – just do it.

The next morning, remove the bag and plastic wrap.  Hop in the shower and rinse your hair.  DO NOT SHAMPOO!  If you shampoo, it will wash all the Kool-Aid out.

There are tons of alternatives to harsh chemicals that can potentially BLIND you if it gets in your eyes!  Nothing that harsh should go on anyone’s scalp – or their hair.  Even henna has ingredients that are too harsh in my opinion.

It’s fun to try new colors and it doesn’t take long to go from drab to dazzling!  What will you do today?  Start June with something different.  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

