TYPE 2 DIABETES TIPS FOR SUCCESS

TL TYPE 2 DIABETES

If you are not getting enough quality sleep at night, you may be at an increased risk for developing type 2 diabetes. When your body is sleeping, so is your pancreas. When you sleep, insulin levels drop and your metabolism (ability to burn and keep fat off) functions normally. If you stay awake at night, when you should be resting, and you eat late at night, your pancreas will never “shut off” and you’ll have a hard time managing your weight. Get a good 6-8 hours of quality sleep at night.

A good laugh and a long sleep are the best cures in the doctor’s book.  – Irish Proverb

I wish I had known about the connection between melatonin levels and diabetes sooner!  I’ve been a night owl for years.  There’s just something about the quiet of night…  my brain seems to awaken and my writer’s imagination takes flight – anyone relate???  I think more clearly and do my best work between 10pm and 3am.  For the sake of my health, that will have to stop.  Now.

To be honest, anything I have to do to improve my health – I will gladly do.  Is this blog or any other writing worth losing my health over?  Um…  nope.

 Early to bed and early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.  – Benjamin Franklin

I guess ol’ Ben was on to something…

If you are a night owl and have diabetes type 2, I invite you to change your sleeping habits.  When research told us to limit carbs, we did.  When it told us to exercise more, we did.  When it told us to take extra vitamin B-12 along with our Metformin, we did.  Now there’s another rule that is for our own good, so we can live as well as we can – get to bed by 10pm and get a good night’s sleep.  Be kind to your pancreas.  Let it rest so it will work better when you’re awake.DEAR PANCREAS

In my defense, I didn’t eat when I stayed up late, but sometimes I did have a cup of tea to sip slowly as I wrote.  But as I said, as long as you are awake, your pancreas thinks it’s on duty regardless and it’s not at rest.

I appreciate being as well-informed as possible because information is POWER.  I like being armed with as much information as possible in this battle, don’t you?  My night owl writing ends tonight.  I’m going to be in bed by 10pm.

Can I imagine myself as a morning person?  Hmm…  not today – but give it time…  I’ll get there!  🙂

 

2 comments

  1. Deanna Stalnaker · May 19, 2016

    Thanks for the post Linda. I have a lot of issues with getting enough sleep too. I read before going to sleep, and if I can’t get to sleep, I lie awake working on my plot for my next book! I have Type 2 diabetes, too and I very seldom get over 6 hours of sleep and even that’s interrupted by bathroom visits. Ugh! I might have to check out this Melatonin link.

    Like

    • hearthunger · May 19, 2016

      I’m just so tickled that they are finally FINALLY looking beyond diet and exercise… yay! 🙂

      Like

Let me know what you think!!!

