BOB WILLS DAY

TL 4-30 BOB WILLS DAY

https://youtu.be/9qcO19R8Jys

http://bobwills.com/

There was one song that my daddy insisted I learn to play…  SAN ANTONIO ROSE.  Playing it on the piano does not do the song justice, but I did play it for him – often!  I have some happy memories of my dad sitting by the stereo record turntable, listening intently to his Bob Wills album.  I’ve searched the internet for the album my dad played, but to no avail.  I’ll keep looking as I write.

I love the name of this town in Texas…  TURKEY, TX.  This is where the big Bob Wills Day celebration takes place every year!  Bob Wills is still the king…  indeed!  Country music has evolved (some of us use a different descriptive term) through the years, but classic country music is still the best in my humble opinion.

I love classic country music and offer no apology whatsoever for it.  I love Floyd Cramer’s slip notes and admire a strong, brilliant voice like Patsy Cline.  And nobody fiddled around better than Bob Wills!

What will happen today in Turkey, Texas?

Check out their page on facebook for more information:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bob-Wills-Day-Turkey-Texas/120154581334657

I read something there about a tribute to the late Merle Haggard.  I’m not sure if there are any original band members left from Bob Wills group, but if there are, it’s going to be a good time you can bet.  I’m sure the talent will be amazing for the day’s activities.

If you want to read the whole Bob Wills story, take a look at this:  http://www.famoustexans.com/bobwills.htm

He earned the title “king of country swing”, that’s for sure!

If you’re thinking about heading for Turkey, Texas today…  here’s one more link to look at:

http://www.bobwillsday.com/

It would be great to be there, but I couldn’t guarantee that I could keep tears from falling.  When I hear that country swing sound from Bob Wills and similar bands, I can’t help but think of my daddy.  If Bob Wills is playing in Heaven, I’m pretty sure my daddy is happy!  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

