NATIONAL PLAYGROUND SAFETY WEEK

TL 4-25 NATIONAL PLAYGROUND SAFETY WEEK

April 25-29 is NATIONAL PLAYGROUND SAFETY WEEK!

Each year over 200,000 children are injured on America’s playgrounds.  Because there was not a nationally coordinated effort to insure safe playgrounds, the National Program for Playground Safety was created in October 1995.  It has helped communities across the country examine the critical issues surrounding playground safety.

While having this support is helpful, there are four contributing factors to properly maintain a safe playground atmosphere:

  1. Provide proper supervision of children on playgrounds.
  2. Design age-appropriate playgrounds.
  3. Provide proper fall surfacing under and around playgrounds.
  4. Properly maintain playground equipment.

This spring and summer the entire family can pack a picnic lunch and enjoy their local playground knowing that the children can play with wild abandon.child-1254146_1280Look at this little guy…  he is king of his castle!children-playing-334531_1920Around and around we go…  oh I’m getting dizzy!boy-722420_1920Well, I got to the bottom of the slide and thought I’d just rest a second.playground-888066_1280I’m climbing way up high!playground-855703_1920Here I come… weeeeeee!children-334528_1280Do I look like a monkey on the monkey bars?

On the Playground
By Dr. Holly

I love the playground –
I feel so free
To run around
Between the trees.

I can dance
And I can shout.
I can prance
And jump about.

I can swing
The whole long day.
My feet touch the sky –
Up, up, away!

I can spin
On the merry-go-round
Until I’m dizzy,
Then slow me down.

I can cross
The monkey bars
Like an astronaut
From star to star.

I can climb –
I never stop! –
Like a mountain lion
Straight to the top!

 Physical activity acts as fuel for the imagination…  and imagination, well…  it’s a wonderful gift from God!  We use imagination every day of our lives – so does that mean we need physical activity, or the dreaded “E” word – exercise – every day?  I think that’s probably the case!  So, a day at the playground is just what the doctor ordered!SWINGING THROUGH LIFE

Enjoy those little ones while you can.  Time passes by so quickly and these are not days you’ll get to redo, so spend time with them every chance you get!  Have a great week and stay active!  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

