PHYSICAL WELLNESS MONTH

TL APRIL IS PHYSICAL WELLNESS MONTHIf it was easy everyone would be a size 2…  that’s what everyone says.  Nowhere in the Bible do I see a verse in the Beatitudes that says, BLESSED ARE THE HEALTHY, FOR THEY SHALL LIVE FOREVER.  Life comes with challenges – some are emotional, some are mental and yes, some are physical.

I’m facing the challenge of my life.  I recently got my A1c checked – it’s a 3 month average of blood glucose levels.  It’s gone up again – now I’m at 8.3.  It should be under 7.  My doctor asked questions about my eating habits and I admitted my love of fruits and vegetables.  I like goldfish crackers and have little pouches which provide portion control.  I don’t eat more than one a day – honest.  But those little golden beauties are 28 g. of carbs so I can’t keep eating them every day.  I have to give up many fruits that I love – and can’t have fruit juices, even low sugar brands.

The thing that my doctor emphasized to me was that no matter what dietary adjustments I make, the most important thing I can do to regain my health is EXERCISE!

UGH…  the dreaded “E” word again…  but I hate it – I hate to exercise!  I’d so much rather get up in the morning and waddle to the bathroom and make a beeline for the coffee pot.  Do not pass GO, do not collect $200 – go straight to the coffee pot.  🙂

It’s no longer an option – it’s a necessity.  I keep wishing I had a partner in crime…  somebody to say COME ON, LET’S GO!  Some enthusiastic voice beside me, saying, LINDA, YOU ARE WORTH SAVING AND HERE I AM TO HELP YOU – TO WALK WITH YOU AND TALK WITH YOU ALONG THE WAY.

I’m taking the largest dose of Metformin, Glipizide and 40 Units of Levemir every night.  I have to bump up the amount of insulin, which means I’ll have to buy pens sooner – and that is hitting my budget in a BIG way.

I’ve hit the proverbial brick wall – head on – this is it – I have to decide if I’m going to do this or if I’m going to pay out upwards of $400 a month for insulin.

Note to self:  SUCK IT UP, BUTTERCUP!  You have absolutely no choice.  Get out of this bed and put on your walkin’ shoes – get out there!  It’s a beautiful day – and yeah, you’ll walk alone, but you have no choice.  You just gotta do it.

So…  from now on, my routine will be get out of bed, waddle to the potty, waddle to the closet and put on my walkin’ clothes and head out the door – get it done while I’m still half asleep, right???  When I get home I can then waddle to the kitchen, fix breakfast and brew the coffee!

I can do this…  I CAN.  I WILL.  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

