TYPE 2 DIABETES TIPS FOR SUCCESS

TL TYPE 2 DIABETES

GOD DOES RESEARCH WITH ME

Have you ever had a NERVE CONDUCTION TEST (NCT)???  There’s a reason they keep a box of tissues in that office…  those things HURT!!!  Basically, the test didn’t tell me anything I didn’t already know – oh, and I’ll never have another one – ever.

I did my research.  My neuropathy from type 2 diabetes was so severe that I was barely able to walk – and then with a cane to lean on.  I already have sciatica, but add the neuropathy to that, and it’s a recipe for major pain and difficulty walking.

Did you know that a side effect of Metformin, the most popular medication for type 2 diabetes, when taken for the long-term, is vitamin B12 deficiency???  Yep – and here’s the interesting part.  Vitamin B12 is what keeps your nerves healthy and happy!  So, maybe it’s not diabetes that is really causing neuropathy, but the medication we take for it.  Seriously?

I gotta tell ya…  I’m very excited because reversing the pain and numbness in my leg was as simple as taking a vitamin B12 pill every day!  I’ve been on Metformin since I was diagnosed in 1994, but did not realize that those 4 pills a day were depleting my B12.  Since I added a B12 pill, the pain and numbness has gotten so much better and I can walk without a cane.

Because of the sciatica I still have shooting pain down my leg, but with exercises I’m able to manage it.

I hope the information I share helps you.  Hey – give vitamin B12 a try.  It’s sure better than nerve damage and inability to walk without a cane.

My next appointment is April 13th to have my A1c checked.  I’ve really been watching my diet closely, drinking water and exercising.  I’m also taking my medicine, of course.  The goal is to ultimately get my weight where it needs to be so I can inch my way off of all diabetes medication.  I’m workin’ on it.  Doin’ the best I can!  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

