COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (18)

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.  – 2 Timothy 2:15

KEEP THE GOVERNMENT OUT OF MY RELIGION!!!  Amen???  Well, how about KNOW WHAT YOUR BIBLE SAYS – for real.  It astonishes me to hear what folks think they’re quoting as Scripture…  when no, it’s really not.

 God helps those who help themselves.  – 1 Americanians 17:76

We’ve all heard this!  Shoot, my parents said that about as often as they said The Lord’s Prayer – well, maybe not as often, but I heard it a lot growing up.  It’s probably the most quoted saying that is attributed to God’s Holy Word – but guess what?  It’s not in there!

Spare the rod, spoil the child.  – 2 Abuse 19:50

I was spanked maybe once or twice in my life, but they were not beatings with a rod by any stretch of the imagination.  I used to tell my parents they “talked me to death” as a punishment.  It was effective, because I towed the line just to avoid that.  And, I was one of those kids who did NOT want to disappoint my parents.  I’d rather eat chalk than to disappoint my folks.  Nobody in the Bible ever told a parent to hit their kids!

Cleanliness is next to godliness.  – Obsessive Compulsive 20:14

OK, I’m sure God wants us to live above the fray and the dust bunnies; however, to obsess over it – ???  I’m guessing He just wants us to obsess over Him!  Praise Him, keep your mind on His precepts – His real precepts, not the ones made up by well-meaning folks with a fetish for housework.  Ugh…  that sounds like a problem for a therapist.  It’s a problem that I, thankfully, have never had.  Ask my husband.  No, wait – don’t ask him.  Bad idea.

Yea, verily, God wants you to be happy.  – Oprah 1:1

Sigh…  life as a Christian does not mean you are given lollipops and roses every day!  In fact, if we are to be followers of Christ, we are to take up our cross and follow Him.  God is not like SPA DAY…  and happiness is not our goal as a Christian.  God will most assuredly give us a deep settled PEACE and JOY if we give Him full control.  For control freaks, that’s very difficult – it’s not easy and should not be taken lightly.  It’s a battle of wills sometimes – and I’m speaking from personal experience.  There are days when I want to be in control, but I know that giving God the steering wheel is ultimately going to mean the outcome will be best for me.  He loves me and will not let anything overtake me.  I’ll cross over the waters and not drown because He loves me and won’t let me perish.  Happy?  No – it’s so much more than just happy.  Happiness is temporal and conditional.  Peace and joy regardless of circumstances of life…  now that’s what God wants for His children.  Don’t ever settle for happy when you can have so much more from God.

We’re all God’s children.  – Unity 13:13

Well…  we were all created by God.  I agree with that; however, we are only His child when we have come to a saving knowledge of His Son, Jesus Christ.  Once we have accepted the death, burial and resurrection of Christ, and know that He did all of this because we have transgressed and need to be forgiven and restored unto God – then and only then do we belong to God.  He doesn’t want anyone to perish, but He wants us to come to Him – of our own free will.  God gave us a free will because He did not want a relationship with robots, but with people.  He wants us to want to love Him.  He didn’t make us to have to love Him.  See the difference?

God will not give you more than you can handle.  – Optimist 10:10

This one sets my teeth on edge!  When I hear it, I want to scream, YES, YES sometimes He does give us more than we can handle!  I know they are thinking of 1 Corinthians 10:13 when they say it, but that is talking about TEMPTATION, not BURDENS!  Newsflash…  in this life I will have burdens, and there will be more burdens than I can handle by myself.  But here’s the good news…  I do not have to bear those burdens because I have a friend who carries all of them and gives me assurance that no matter what happens, He will be there with me and He is working all things for my good.  He’s making me stronger and increasing my faith every day.  It’s a good thing!  Life is not easy, but God is good!

Who started the rumor that there was an apple on that tree of life?  The Bible doesn’t say what the forbidden fruit was, but we sure found out what the consequences were for picking it, didn’t we?

And that little drummer boy at the stable where Jesus lay – who drove him to Bethlehem?  He wasn’t there.  There is no mention of a little boy with a drum standing beside Mary and Joseph and Jesus.  He wasn’t playing his best for Him…  per rum pa pum pum…  nope.  Sweet little Christmas song and nice thought, but totally fabricated story.

I was listening to Bill O’Reilly the other day.  He was talking about how sloppy journalism has gotten since technology came on the scene.  He said there is not thorough fact checking like there used to be.  They just get on the internet and assume everything they read is true.  It struck a chord with me.  How sloppy have we gotten as Christians in our study of God’s Word?  When was the last time you actually took your Bible (the actual Book, not your computer) out, dusted it off, and read from it?

We have so many voices talking in our heads these days – celebs claiming to be Christians with less than sage advice to give us.  When did we trade the words of King Solomon, the wisest man to ever live, for the words of Oprah?

False prophets are everywhere these days.  I don’t know about you, but I want the real deal, and I’m not willing to settle for fake quotes that may or may not tickle my ears and make me happy happy… when I can have the meat of God’s Word – His sovereignty and His majesty and His TRUTH.  Have a great day in the Lord!  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

