A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (3)

110630-where-was-jesus

THE DAY THAT CHRIST WAS GONE

Imagine how the death of Christ affected the people.  The confusion, feeling of despair and wondering why this had to happen and asking what was the point of it must have prevailed throughout the area where the Master once taught, healed, lived.  Jesus tried to explain, but they just didn’t understand – and I don’t judge them for that – would we have understood?  Nothing like that had happened before – or has happened since.

People in our world today still ask why Christ came to earth as a baby and was raised as a human – just to end up suffering the worst beating ever and ultimately dying on a cross.  It’s our favorite question to ask, isn’t it – WHY?

BY HIS WOUNDS

One word – SALVATION.  Christ was the only sacrifice that was worthy to bridge the gap between God and fallen man.  Did He want to go through this?  Have you read the prayer He prayed at Golgotha?  He asked if he could skip it…  but ultimately, for weak sinful people – ones that His Father, God, created and still loved – He went through with His Father’s plan.

So He died – and He’s buried.  Was that the end of the story?  I’m so tempted to say…  tune in tomorrow for the rest of the story…  (what can I say – I miss Paul Harvey!) 

Some churches do a lot of talking about where Jesus “went” (for lack of a better word) – after He died.  Of course we are speaking of His Spirit, not His actual physical body.  His Spirit went to the bosom of Abraham, I’ve been told.  His Spirit went to get the keys from the devil, I’ve also been told.  Frankly, the church I was raised in was not big on talking about that day in-between Good Friday and Easter Sunday.  I have wondered though – so I’m going to do what I always do.  I’m going to see what Scripture I can find about it.

There’s not much there…  but I’ll share with you what I’ve found.

David was looking into the future and speaking of the Messiah’s resurrection. He was saying that God would not leave him among the dead or allow his body to rot in the grave.  – Acts 2:31

God would not leave Him among the dead or allow His body to rot in the grave.  It’s just like our Father, isn’t it?  He will take care of us in the same way, you know.  As Christ is His child – so are we if we have accepted Him into our hearts and lives.

For thou wilt not leave my soul in hell; neither wilt thou suffer thine Holy One to see corruption.   Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.  – Psalm 16:10-11

At Thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.  Isn’t that a comfort?  Amen!

One song comes to mind – HE HOLDS THE KEYS!  And I’ve heard many people sing it, but there’s only one Steve Green.

https://youtu.be/YNrn_yuLIJo

Hang on to hope…  not to be a spoiler, but Christ did not stay in the tomb!  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

