FESTIVAL OF OWLS WEEK

A WISE OLD OWLMarch 7-11 is Festival of Owls Week.  These wise old birds are amazing to watch – and hear…  hold your ears!  I used to hear these barn owls often when I stayed with my grandparents.  If you don’t know what it is, it sounds downright creepy.  If you think owls just say WHO… WHO…  then you’ve never heard a barn owl.

https://youtu.be/JDmRmRb2OpE

Barn owls don’t usually live long lives.  In North America the oldest known barn owl in the wild lived to be 11 years old.  In Holland, a wild barn owl lived to be 17 years old.  In England, a captive female barn owl was retired from breeding at 25 years old.

Wow... you humans sure look weird!

Wow… you humans sure look weird!

 

Flying and screeching... screeching and flying.

Flying and screeching… screeching and flying.

I lost my tree... dang it - I LOST MY TREE!

I lost my tree… dang it – I LOST MY TREE!

Don't hate me because I'm beautiful.

Don’t hate me because I’m beautiful.

I'm a barn owl - in a barn. Go figure.

I’m a barn owl – in a barn. Go figure.

Now we hear the WHO…  WHO from the eagle owl.  Can you believe those eyes?  They are absolutely gorgeous and captivating.

https://youtu.be/ynl-L8L3Ui8

The Eurasian eagle owl lives in mountain regions and other relatively remote places.  It’s a nocturnal predator, hunting for small mammals but also birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish and large insects.

Wow... you humans sure look weird.

Wow… you humans sure look weird.

Get my good side...

Get my good side…

Soar and hoot... hoot and soar.

Soar and hoot… hoot and soar.

Every move you make, I'll be watching you...

Every move you make, I’ll be watching you…

I know I look good.

I know I look good.

 

And yesterday, I saw this post on twitter: https://twitter.com/planetepics

 

I came home, pulled back the curtains and saw this beautiful animal. Looks like I’m headed to Hogwarts!

I came home, pulled back the curtains and saw this beautiful animal. Looks like I’m headed to Hogwarts!

I don’t know who specifically came home to find this little cutie, but I just had to share this.

Enjoy this wonderful poem by Lucinda Berry Hill.

GRAMMIE AND OWLS

Many people in the 1970’s collected all things owls.  I also knew some who collected elephants (something about luck in the home) – but owls represent wisdom.  For fun, I wondered how many photographs of owls I could find on common everyday things.  Here’s what I came up with:

I could use a symbol of wisdom first thing in the morning - for sure!

I could use a symbol of wisdom first thing in the morning – for sure!

It's an owl necklace watch! Here it is closed.

It’s an owl necklace watch! Here it is closed.

Here it is open.

Here it is open.

Here's a little owl writer and music lover.

Here’s a little owl writer and music lover.

How about owl origami?  Give it a try – it’s really fun!

http://www.origami-fun.com/origami-owl.html

We all agree that owls are cute – albeit scary…  sharp beaks, talons and stares with no blinks…  don’t you wonder what they’re thinking?  Maybe we really don’t want to know.  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

