NATIONAL CRAFT MONTH

TL MARCH IS NATIONAL CRAFT MONTHI’ll begin this post with a disclaimer:  I am not crafty in any way, shape or form.  I do a little scrapbooking, but it would not win any prizes.  Mama taught me how to embroider, satin stitch and make French knots – and as a young girl I cross-stitched every Precious Moments pattern I could find on to my mama’s sweatshirts with waste cloth.  I embroidered tea towels with my mom.  She had one for every day of the week.  Scratch that…  I had one for every day of the week.  I am the one who dried the dishes.  😉

Those were the days when my eyes worked better.  It’s been years since I’ve done any of that stuff.  My arthritis won’t let me hold a needle anymore either, so it’s too much of a chore to try to cross-stitch or embroider.

I bought a Precious Moments wall hanging the other day for the laundry room.86a7504048b0dfb9495033f8d7c9c406

IMG_0002Pretend that photo is not so blurry!  Yikes – I didn’t think I was that nervous.  :-/

I do appreciate crafts so much.  I have a few hand-made quilts around the house.  The most precious quilt I have is, of course, the one my grandma and mama made.  It’s draped over Grandpa Frank’s rocking chair.  ❤IMG_0004Excuse my blurry photo – I’m not sure if it’s the camera or operator error – maybe a little of both – lol.  The quilt on the right is my very special quilt – the one on the left is one I bought at an antique store.  As you know, I really like bargains – and hold on to your hat – that quilt was $50.00.  It was in a booth that was selling everything not marked FIRM for 1/2 price!  I looked very closely – and the quilt was not marked FIRM.  It was a happy dance moment. 

I love all sorts of crafts – stained glass is so beautiful, especially when the light shines through it.  I enjoyed making my own Longaberger basket at the Homestead in Ohio.  A sweet sister in Christ crocheted me a beautiful throw for cold winter evenings.  I especially like it because I got to choose my yarn for it.

Have you been to Silver Dollar City in Missouri?  When we go there, I try to pick up a hand-made treasure.  One thing that means so much to me is my hand-made vanity from SDC.  For our 20th wedding anniversary, my husband surprised me with it!  What a sweet thing for him to do.  I appreciate craftsmanship, I suppose because my daddy was a master carpenter.  I understand the work involved from start to finish.HAND MADE WITH LOVE

Is it just me, or do you think of the person who made your gift when you see the gift?  I think of them and whisper a prayer.  There’s something so special about people sharing their talents with others.

How will you show appreciation for a crafts person this month?  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

