A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL 2-16 A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEARTYOU'RE THE SPRINKLES ON MY LIFEWho are the sprinkles in your life?  Who adds that special something to your everyday life?  Husbands, wives, children, grandchildren and even great-grandchildren for some.  Aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, cousins.  What about friends?  If you have a best friend, you are especially blessed!

Are you a sprinkle to anyone?  God sprinkles you with His love and you sprinkle family and friends.  Have you ever thought of it that way before?  Don’t you love how God works???

At a potluck dinner in the fellowship center one Sunday morning after service, my pastor and I were standing in line looking at the desserts.  There was a very happy plate filled with cupcakes – topped with icing and sprinkles.  He laughed and said, “I like SPRINKLES – but not BB’S.”   I knew exactly what he was talking about.  If those cupcakes had been decorated with BB’s, forget it – I wouldn’t have taken one! 

1467492_771456416204141_1783276352_nJust as there are many kinds of toppings or decorations for cupcakes, there are many types of people in the world – and it made me ask myself – “What type of person am I with others?”  Am I a yummy sprinkle, or am I at times a tough little BB???  I so want to be a sprinkle!  I prayed that God make me a sprinkle.  What a prayer to pray, huh?

God allows so many opportunities every day for us to sprinkle, sparkle and shine!  As we receive His character traits, we share those traits with those in our realm of influence – or we should.  While we will never be perfect, with God’s help, we can be better than we were before we knew the Father.

Please Heavenly Father,

Help me to be a sprinkle to those around me.  Even when I’m having less than a good day, may I always remember to be soft, gentle, kind and loving regardless of my personal issues.  Keep all jealousy, envy, hate and negative, unproductive emotions at bay as I forge ahead to be Your child.  I truly am too blessed to be stressed, and I thank You for everything good in my life.  May I never take it for granted and may I never be unwilling to share.

In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

BB’s (fake friends, haters, negative people) are challenges that are bound to appear once in a while.  We have a choice at that point to be a BB or a sprinkle in return.  I sure hope God helps me to be a sprinkle.  🙂

Let me know what you think!!!

