WE’VE PACKED OUR DUDS… LET’S GO!!!

WE'VE PACKED OUR DUDS... LET'S GO!

There’s a major snow storm coming our way!  We’ve known about it for a few days and as temperatures reached the mid 60’s last Friday and Saturday, we decided to get out and enjoy it!  We headed south on 1-35 and on to the Kansas Turnpike.  In winter the Kansas prairie is not terribly interesting and there are leafless dead trees lining the highway, but as we got closer to the Oklahoma border, we saw the wind turbines waving at us!

In case you’re wondering, yes – I waved back.  Yeah – I didHello, happy little wind turbines!  Yes, I am FUN on a trip – pray for my poor husband, will ya???  IMG_0003Once we got past the waving turbines, we knew the Oklahoma border was not far away.  We stayed on the turnpike for another hour and a half once in Oklahoma – we got off at exit 194 and drove about 30 miles west on highway 412 to Enid, Oklahoma.  I love brand new adventures, don’t you? 

We found a few really nice antique stores, but sadly, a couple of the stores had gone out of business.  😦

Broadway Mall gets a 5-basket rating from this Longaberger collector!  The baskets were all over the store, so some hunting was required (but that’s part of the fun, right?)  https://www.facebook.com/broadwayantiquesenid/  LIKE them on facebook!

IMG_0004IMG_0005I took this photo from inside the truck – that’s why it looks like there’s a car driving on the roof – it’s just a reflection.  I assure you there was NOT a car driving on the roof!  https://www.facebook.com/Broadway-Exchange-528702237171093/  LIKE Broadway Exchange on facebook.

Not everything was antique, but I like to look at new stuff too, so that’s okay.  I found a couple of small baskets there because most of the antiques are large pieces like beds and dressers.  I liked this place because it’s so well-organized and there was plenty of room to walk around.IMG_0006Just a block from Broadway is Maine St. and look at that sweet ride setting there!  I just had to get a picture of it!  Then we went to the thrift store to look around.  Larry was looking for antiques (because sometimes you find the unexpected in thrift stores) and I was looking at vintage clothing.  Neither of us found a treasure – but that happens sometimes too.IMG_0007Here’s another blast from the past!  We were on our way to eat dinner at Chick-fil-A and were stopped at a traffic light.  I think that’s probably the original paint too – isn’t that neat?  Someone has taken very good care of it!

IMG_0008There are so many reasons to LIKE Chick-fil-A, but they impress me because:

  1. The employees serve their customers as if they are serving their MASTER, Christ Jesus (it’s Biblical – and it makes such a difference!)
  2. I heard children in the booth behind me saying EXCUSE ME (in a nice tone), PLEASE, THANK YOU, and they asked their parents… MAY I GO PLAY?
  3. There are literally DOZENS of condiments as well as straws, napkins, etc.  They are in a clean and tidy area.  I’m not sure how they can have mayonnaise in packets unrefrigerated…  regular and light – but they DO!  It’s a good thing, because I like lite mayo on my chicken sandwich.
  4. This goes in the GO THE EXTRA MILE FILE…  They put fresh carnations in a little vase on every single table – every single day!  I was looking around and thought about how SPECIAL they make their customers feel.  I feel special when I’m at Chick-fil-A.  https://www.facebook.com/chickfilaenid/  LIKE them on facebook!

Friday night we stayed over at a local motel…  I won’t say much about it because we were less than tickled with the experience.  But then Saturday morning rolled around…

IMG_0009There’s a Wally World in Enid – YAY!!!  If you know me, you know that Walmart is how I roll.  We ate breakfast at McDonald’s located on the market side.  I tried their new maple and fruit oatmeal, and it’s pretty good – and surprisingly did not raise my blood sugar too much.  Since it’s maple and fruit, I expected a significant rise, but was pleasantly surprised.  It’s also under 300 calories.  Good to know.IMG_0010You know how some folks go on vacation and they take beautiful photos of the sunrise – it rises over the beach or over a large body of water???  This is my sunrise photo for this trip – the sun is rising over the Walmart.  Isn’t it beautiful?  Who needs palm trees anyway???

As we were traveling down 412 west, we saw the funniest thing – and I didn’t get a photo (sorry, I was too slow) – but there was a little piglet grazing in the median!  I’m not joking – we laughed – and I said, “ONLY IN OKLAHOMA!!!”  I wish I had taken a photo – but it just came up on us so fast!IMG_0016We got back on the turnpike heading for Tonkawa, Oklahoma…  I like this sign – it’s a business that fixes big rigs – but that sign – well – it’s a TRUCK!  It’s been there for years – I think it’s really cool.  I don’t know if you can read it, but it says, WE FIX TRUCKSIMG_0017Welcome to Tonkawa, Oklahoma!  This is a Santa Fé caboose.  I think trains just look naked without the caboose – but I’ve had time to get used to the idea.  LOL – 😉IMG_0021This restaurant caught my attention for two reasons:  (1) The spiral staircase and (2) I was HUNGRY!  We didn’t eat there, but I still think it’s a really neat looking place – I’m keeping it in mind for a future trip.IMG_0022About two years ago we were in Tonkawa antique shopping and had good luck finding things in this store.  Apparently the place changed hands, because it is now more of a thrift store.  I didn’t mind, because I found some vintage clothing and a coffee mug that says SMILE, GOD LOVES YOU that Hallmark made years ago.  I didn’t get one back then, but I have one now.  Works for me!  I can afford $1.00.  I remember looking at those mugs at the Hallmark store years ago – but they were so expensive, no way could I get one.  I love how God works things out if we just let Him have it – big or small.

IMG_0024IMG_0023

We got off the turnpike to go to Blackwell, Oklahoma.  There was a VERY long truck with a wide load driving ahead of us at about 20 MPH.  Once we got to Blackwell, we decided to try to get ahead of the truck by taking some back roads to get downtown.  Sounded like a good plan to me, but the trouble was – we got about halfway to our destination – and an Oklahoma State Trooper came around the corner – lights flashing.  LOL…  it was the big rig!  Instead of getting ahead of it – we MET it.  But – I got this really cool photo of the monster in the intersection.  Isn’t that massive???  With two Trooper cars and a Pilot vehicle, hopefully that thing will get where it’s going.  What is that thing they’re hauling, anyhow???  Does anyone know???

Eventually we got to Ashby’s in Blackwell.  We didn’t find much there – went to the Braum’s for lunch and got back on the turnpike to go home.  LIKE Ashby’s on facebook!  https://www.facebook.com/ashbysantiquemall/

We’re thankful to God for another safe journey!  We’re so glad you got to come along!  🙂

For more information about the places to visit in Enid, OK, go to http://Info@VisitEnid.org  The Enid Welcome Center is at 201 W. Owen K. Garriott Rd., Enid, OK  73701 / 580-233-3643 / Open Mon-Fri 8am-Noon, 1pm-5pm

Antique / Thrift / Consignment Shops in Enid:

BECKY’S CONSIGNMENT SHOP 123 E. Broadway  580-297-5118

BROADWAY ANTIQUES & UNIQUES 129 E. Broadway 580-297-5113

BROADWAY EXCHANGE 211 E. Broadway 580-540-9171

PARK AVENUE THRIFT 507 S. Grand 580-233-7275

JWL RETURN ENGAGEMENT 123 N. Grand 580-234-0624

LOLA’S BOUTIQUE 224 W. Randolph 580-542-0133

COMMUNITY THRIFT & GIFT 130 E. Randolph 580-297-5133

BRAND NAME EXCHANGE 114 N. Independence 580-237-8336

CHER-DEN’S 827 W. Maine 580-237-6881

KARMA’S RETRO SHOPPE & FLEA MARKET 1713 S. Van Buren 580-748-0353

HOPE OUTREACH THRIFT STORE 215 S. Van Buren 580-237-4673

Most of these shops have websites and are on facebook.  🙂

 

Let me know what you think!!!

