NATIONAL PEANUT BUTTER LOVER’S DAY

TL 1-24 NATIONAL PEANUT BUTTER LOVER'S DAY

1-24 DADDY AND PEANUT BUTTER

This is one of my favorite holidays, NATIONAL PEANUT BUTTER LOVER’S DAY!!!  Did you know it takes about 540 peanuts to make a 12-ounce jar of peanut butter?  In our house, we have the peanut butter with no hydrogenated oils, which means there is no trans fat.  There is still a need to watch the serving size because they all use palm oil, but it’s more healthy if it is not hydrogenated.  Also, if the label says Peanut Butter Spread, it’s not the same as Peanut Butter.  Read labels carefully.  

How do you eat peanut butter?  I like to mix 2 Tbs. of peanut butter with 2 Tbs. of sugar-free honey and use it to dip apple slices.  There was a time I bought caramel dip for apple slices, but there is a ton of sugar in it and I needed to come up with a more healthy alternative.

LF PEANUT BUTTER SF CHOCOLATE SYRUP APPLE DIP

I like to use recipes for cookies that have no flour of gluten in them.  I found this one for peanut butter cookies.

http://youtu.be/XqPOdhc0E74

As usual, I substitute the white sugar with Splenda.  If you use a peanut butter with no hydrogenated oil, that makes this a perfectly healthy cookie!

 No man in the world has more courage than the man who can stop after eating one peanut. – Channing Pollock

Sometimes there is nothing better than an old-fashioned peanut butter and jelly sandwich!  I heard a nutritionist say that there is nothing as balanced as that.  There is protein, carbohydrates and a little sugar to keep your blood sugar from bottoming out.  Since I have a problem with high blood sugar, I choose to have a sugar-free jelly.  Smucker’s sugar-free apricot spread is my favorite.  I also use a 9-grain bread instead of white bread because it doesn’t cause my blood sugar to spike.

OK – I just viewed this and it grossed me out.  I like peanut butter, and I like coffee (you KNOW I do) – but…  peanut butter coffee???  Oh yeah – no, that’s never happening!

http://youtu.be/RfhOSXOeF7M

I really don’t venture out and experiment with peanut butter like that.  Um…  no.  Besides, I’m not sure you can trust someone who says he has a glass of coffee instead of a cup.  Jus’ sayin’…

Peanut Butter with no hydrogenated oils is a healthy source of protein, but remember a serving size is only 1 Tablespoon – so it packs a nutritional punch!  It’s probably a bad idea to sit in front of the TV and mindlessly eat it straight from the jar.  I don’t know how anyone could do that anyway – I mean, wouldn’t it get stuck to the roof of your mouth?  :-/

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

