A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART

TL A COMMENTARY FROM THE HEART (2)

All I’ve heard lately is the amount of the latest LOTTO jackpot!  It’s more than my little mind can comprehend, to be honest.  I heard an interview with Robin Leach yesterday.  He said the winner of the jackpot should contact a financial advisor immediately – and make plans to move away from their current home to an undisclosed destination.

With wealth comes responsibility.  I know…  I know – you’re telling me you think you can handle it – or at least try.  But think about the repercussions that this degree of wealth would have – it’s nearly unfathomable!  Take heart in knowing that yes, that is a lot of money – but how much more are the gifts we receive from God.  He gives and gives…

GOOD GIFTS

The Bible tells us that it’s easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than a wealthy man to enter heaven.  I think as long as I have the LORD, I am the most wealthy person!  I have a peace in my heart that nobody can take away!  If I had wealth, would I lean on God like I should?  I can’t say.  I hope the answer is yes, I would still trust God to lead me daily.  I hope dirty old money wouldn’t change me.  🙂

Actually, when I think of THE LOTTERY, my mind goes back to a very old piece of American literature.  In school, we were required to read a short story by Shirley Jackson by that name.  I won’t spoil the story in case you’ve not read it, but let’s just say it is filled with irony – and after all these years, the story is still quite vivid in my mind – it made a deep impression on me.

The Lottery was written in the month of its first publication in the June 26, 1948 issue of The New Yorker.  It was considered one of the most famous short stories in the history of American literature.  In spite of that bit of praise, the story met with negative repercussions as subscribers to The New Yorker magazine started cancelling subscriptions after the story ran.  The story was actually banned in the Union of South Africa.

Whether you bought a lottery ticket or plan to read the story, I hope you will always remember to be contented and bloom where you’re planted.  That’s what God wants – for us to trust Him as we face the future.  God bless you today!  🙂

 

Let me know what you think!!!

