PROVERBS 9:10 ON 9/10

Proverbs 9 10 on 9 10

STRUGGLES PRODUCE WISDOM

 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.  – Proverbs 9:10

Honestly, if I had a dime for each time an unbeliever let me know I’m not perfect as a Christian – I could retire to my own private island!

Of course I’m not perfect – I never claimed to be – and I’m not supposed to be.  Christ Jesus is the only perfect One!  I call myself a Christian because it is my desire to embrace His wonderful love and aspire to be more like Him.  The key word is…  ASPIRE.

We aspire, desire, strive, and basically pray our way through life!  We know we’re never going to be perfect.  And, by the way, if we ever start thinking we have arrived and don’t need any more help, that’s probably when we need more help than ever – Amen?

I openly admit imperfection in my Christian life.  Is that an excuse to backslide and quit believing?  What did the Apostle Paul say?

 What then? shall we sin, because we are not under the law, but under grace? God forbid.  – Romans 6:15

There are honest mistakes, struggles and mishaps that happen in the Christian life – but we are never supposed to say or do anything on purpose with the assumption that we are covered by grace, so therefore we can be reckless and take the precious grace of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, for granted.

Life gets messy and tangled and sometimes downright ugly – even for us.  When a person is born again, it’s not a magic key that unlocks the cosmic safe room where we go to live out the rest of our days!  So why trust Christ with our lives?  Good question.

When you put the rest of your life in the palm of God’s hand, you are acknowledging His power (and my lack of power), His strength (and my lack of strength), His knowledge (and my lack of knowledge) and His perfect love (and sadly, my lack of perfect love).  You are giving God’s Holy Spirit permission to speak to your spirit – to give you comfort and help and guidance when you need it (for me that is every day).

It’s a surrender of my will.  I surrender my will and say to God through Christ and His sacrifice on Calvary, not my will, but Thy will be done.  Father, Son and Holy Spirit – do Your perfect work in me.  Help me to be the very best person I can be so I may represent You in my realm of influence.  It’s a daily prayer and a daily commitment I want to make.  I am not brainwashed or pushed into anything.  I have a free will and it is my will to know His perfect plan for my life.

But there is love…  God loves us!

This, I think, is what love is:  taking it all in, hoping for the best.  Admiring the lake’s shimmering surface and unknown depths.  Building a bank of memories, and cherishing them all equally.  – Jane Smiley

Here’s the good news.  God loves everyone and His Son Jesus died on a cross and God raised Him from the dead.  He lives today and sits at the right hand of God the Father.  This same Jesus will come back to receive His own very soon.  I’m ready to go.  Are you?  🙂

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

