PROVERBS 8:13 ON 8/13

TL PROVERBS 8 13 ON 8 13

To fear the Lord is to hate evil; I hate pride and arrogance, evil behavior and perverse speech.  – Proverbs 8:13

The book of Proverbs is filled with wisdom, isn’t it?  If ever there was a time in history when America and the world could use some wisdom…  well – I believe it’s now!

Have I mentioned that I am not perfect lately?  Well, I’m not.  I’m just a human being who leans heavily on my heavenly Father.  Fearing the Lord is to hate evil.  By fear, it’s not saying we should quake in our boots and hide behind tree trunks.  Fear means to have a reverence, respect, honor and awe of God.  Think about where your power comes from…  it really is awesome and awe-worthy!  This kind of fear is always tied to our obedience of Him.

https://youtu.be/bj2Lj4CIzoY

God doesn’t dig pride and arrogance.  Well, if you are too dependent on yourself, why would you depend on God?  Think about it.

God cannot look on sin – He just can’t.  Evil behavior often leads to something worse than the behavior that started it.  Evil behavior takes you down a one-way street with nowhere to turn around.  Eventually you may hit bottom, but it’s usually a short trip to the bottom.  Know this, however, that anywhere on the trip you can call out to Jesus Christ and He will be there for you.  He can and will help you out of the pit of self-destruction.  You’ll have to make changes, but the rewards will be so worth it.

A sweet pastor’s wife once told me that when people use profanity, they lack the intelligence to make a better choice of words.  That has stuck with me through the years.  God’s last name is not dang it…  or worse.  God is to be honored, respected above all and reverenced.  Anything less is a disgrace and sin.  Ask Him to forgive you for using His Holy name in vain because you will be held accountable for it if you don’t.

I want to be free of pride, anger, arrogance, evil behavior and perverse speech.  And if I may make the following statement:  I want my next president to be free of these things too.  I want a president who seeks guidance from God.  I want a president who is wise in decision-making.  Some diplomatic decisions need to be made not out of anger or arrogance – but with the wisdom that only comes from his or her higher power…  God.

Self-sufficiency does not impress this voter.  Self-made people are not what America needs right now.  Haven’t we been under the leadership of one who is self-made already?  Do we want more of that?  Let’s keep praying about this.  Who does God want in the White House?  Let’s consult Him about it.  🙂

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

