LAUGH & GET RICH DAY

TL 2-8 LAUGH & GET RICH DAY

It’s LAUGH AND GET RICH DAY!!!

Some people do laugh all the way to the bank – we all hold on to the hope that one day we will be able to enjoy what we do for a living, be able to laugh and watch our bank accounts grow by leaps and bounds.

Laugh and Get Rich is a 1931 movie – an amusing little tale.

http://www.veoh.com/watch/v58245742shHKHm4d

I was inches away from saying NO WAY to this writing challenge.  It sounded utterly ridiculous and unreasonable.  Then as I thought more about it, I realized that sometimes riches are not measured in dollars.  I don’t receive money when I laugh, do you?  Maybe a stand-up comedian does because they make others laugh for a living, but most of us are not financially compensated for laughing.

Here’s a guy who is definitely compensated for laughing – and do you know how wealthy people laugh???  Yeah, I didn’t know it either – but here it is:

http://youtu.be/EffPnse4WQs

Well that’s why I’m not wealthy – I don’t know how to laugh like that.  I’m glad someone explained it to me – wink!  😉  To be honest, a Scripture popped into my mind as I was watching that – Ecclesiastes 7:6.

OK – back to reality.  The thought of hope kept coming back to me.  Where does that hope come from?  It comes from God.  We pray that God will improve our circumstances and give us a happier countenance as we go through life.  He helps us every day whether it is through education, promotion, or direct inspiration.

It’s very sad when people think they have achieved these things by themselves – they refer to themselves as “self-made” when they are being molded into what God wants them to be.  If you have a gift or talent for something, that came from God.  You may have had to take classes to hone it, but the basic gift is from God.

 Therefore humble yourselves +[demote, lower yourselves in your own estimation+] under the mighty hand of God, that in due time He may exalt you…  – 1 Peter 5:6

In this day and age, laughing is not heard as much as it used to be.  There are terrorists running around committing horrible acts, showing no mercy whatsoever.  They cannot be reasoned with and there is talk that it could come to our country.  Yes, I know God has this in His control – but I’m not laughing and it is scary.  Every day I pray for a speedy end to this threat.

When we find ourselves laughing at something these days, we should count it as a blessing.  Maybe the fact that we’re laughing at all is the reward.  Maybe those moments that we are happy ARE the reward.   No, we don’t laugh all the way to the bank, but God gives us a reason to smile and laugh and be happy.  That is good enough for me. 

What makes you happy makes you rich.  – Russian Proverb

Money for laughter might make me too vain.  Too much money makes your laugh change from genuine to fake.  I’d rather keep my real laugh and not have the wealth.  🙂

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

