NATIONAL BROWNIE DAY

TL 12-8 NATIONAL BROWNIE DAY

12-8 OUR GOD OF TOO MUCHIt’s NATIONAL BROWNIE DAY!  That’s great, especially if you are not a type 2 diabetic or on a diet that frowns on such indulgence.  Is there a brownie recipe that will be kind to my blood sugar and keep my weight in check?  Well, as usual I’m on the lookout for a diabetic-friendly recipe so all of us can join in the fun!

 http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sugar-free-brownies/

If you add the walnuts to the mix it provides some healthy fat and protein which is a good thing.  The recipe makes 25 squares, just to keep the portion control in check.  If you start cutting and only have 10 squares, you cut them too big!  LOL!

My blood sugar spiked when I watched her take that bite!  Yikes – cream cheese and marshmallow as well as all that chocolate???  Rich???  Well…  yeah!

One more crazy rich brownie recipe – I’d be lying if I said they are not yummy:

http://www.bunsinmyoven.com/2009/10/15/good-ol-homemade-brownies/

OK – back to common sense brownie recipes.  LOL!

 http://www.cooks.com/recipe/1w5rn6xe/diabetic-brownies.html

I chose this recipe because it uses graham crackers instead of flour.  For some reason as I get older, my tummy gets less tolerant of gluten.  Maybe the graham crackers would work better for me and others who are bothered by flour products.

This is another example of COMA ON A PLATE!  1 cup of sugar – 1 cup of brown sugar as well as regular Dr. Pepper (a.k.a. more sugar)???  You know that little disclaimer that says, “Kids – don’t try this at home” – ???  Well – nobody has any business doing this unless your blood sugar is about 40.  Wow – that’s just bad!

But here’s the other end of the spectrum…  do we all have protein powder setting around the house?  Um…  no comment (that means no).  There were a couple of other ingredients that she rattled off that I wondered where in the heck I need to go to get…  I’m guess Wal-Mart won’t have some of that stuff.  Oh – and yeah, that’s how I dress when I cook brownies too.  Not! 

The diabetic recipes I appreciate are the ones that use real ingredients – just common sense, real food.  Not tons of sugar along with regular sugary soda.  Not protein powder and other ingredients that I can barely pronounce, let alone find at the store.

Hopefully there is a recipe here you can use.  Just because I have diabetes does not mean I can’t join in the fun.  Have a blessed day!

If you are looking for a perfect Christmas gift, may I suggest a new devotional book by Lucinda Berry Hill?  Everyone needs a new devotional book to begin the new year!

ResizeImageHandler

Click on the link below to order your copy!

http://bookstore.westbowpress.com/Products/SKU-000952694/A-Second-Cup-with-Jesus.aspx 

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think!!!

