ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY

MAKE ME LAUGH
August 13th 1997 was South Park’s TV début on Comedy Central.   I’m less than impressed with South Park.

Foul language does not shock me. If you use it to my face, I won’t look at you with my mouth gaping open and my hand covering it – you will, however, get my UGLY look. Trust me, if I give it to you, you will know you are getting it!

People who choose to use foul language strike me as unimaginative, uncreative, uneducated, undignified and possess very little command over the English language. A truly funny person does not have to lean on that weary crutch to get laughs. The test of comedy is to leave out the offensive word. If the word is left out, is the joke still just as funny (or maybe even funnier)? Then why stoop to that level?  Comedians refer to this brash type of comedy as EDGY. I think it just STINKS.

There are a handful of comedians who have not caved under the pressure of those who choose to take EDGY AVENUE. Of course my mind goes back to the day of Minnie Pearl and Archie Campbell. Yes, I really liked Hee Haw, I admit it. But that was the kind of comedy that required some real talent. My favorite bit was when Archie told the story of Rindercella, but I like all the bedtime stories for adults.

A real comedian is one who knows their strengths and weaknesses. They capitalize on both because they rely on intellect. There is still an audience for the people who choose to take the high road and be funny without using foul language. It’s just not needed!

I’m thankful for comedians like Archie Campbell who used pure talent to make people laugh.

The words you say are either a gift to the recipient or they equal stinky, breath-stealing mildew. Words are important; they matter. I get that they have a “Constitutional right” to say what they want, but I wish comedians would just make me laugh without making me want to hurl. :-/

Let me know what you think!!!

