ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY

TL ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY (8)

LEAD ME ON
On this day in 1956, two years after pushing to have the phrase “under God” inserted into the pledge of allegiance, President Dwight D. Eisenhower signs a law officially declaring “In God We Trust” to be the nation’s official motto. The law also mandated that the phrase be printed on all American paper currency.

Today I was standing in the dining room waiting for my toast to pop up when the song “Just a Closer Walk With Thee” started playing. I started singing along while doing a little spirited shuffle to the beat (it’s not dancing, exactly). The words to that song have a powerful meaning to me and always have. I like the line that says, “If I falter, Lord, who cares??? None but THEE, Dear Lord – none but THEE.”

I was raised to adopt a perfectionist attitude and esteem performance. It’s a crying shame that an attitude like that should be acceptable in the church, but it is. I’ve spent years trying to unwind my identity from my ability to perform. It’s finally solid in my mind – it’s not about what I do or how I do it. It is about what Christ did for me. My salvation rests on my faith and nothing else.

Now, rewards are quite another thing. The rewards are based on works, but only if they are done with a good attitude. That’s still not based upon how good my performance is. Of course I want to do my very best because it’s for God. But to get all wrapped up in myself over it is not right.

Today I pray – Lead me on, Lord. These days my eyesight is not very good and I can’t tell a sharp sign from a natural sign when I’m playing music. I can’t see to do cross-stitch anymore. The things I used to do to help others, I can no longer do. But I don’t want to concentrate on what I can no longer do. I did what I could and now it’s time to help in other ways.

Today I pray – Lead me on, Lord. I don’t know where He will lead me or what He will lead me to do, but I want to be of a contrite spirit and listening for further instruction from the Holy Spirit.

Today I pray – Lead me on, Lord.

Let me know what you think!!!

